Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: April 16, 2017

Oddball here we come. My first set of three photos show the result of a grafting class I went to three weeks ago. The extension agent had a tool that is supposed to make grafting more successful. The joint is like a puzzle piece. You insert the rooted stock one way and use the tool to get the “female end”. Then for the graft you turn the tool the opposite way and get the “male” end. The third pictures shows the two joined and awaiting the masking tape to hold it in place while it heals.

019

I try to take my dog out very frequently and this time of year especially there is always plenty of new growth everywhere. I have passed this solitary daffodil many times this week thinking I wanted to snap a photo, but I never had my phone. Then today when I finally do there is a butterfly resting on it.

018

I wondered if I would be able to get close enough to capture the butterfly and was surprised to get photos from both sides of the flower.

004

This photo was not as clear as I would like due to the low light conditions, but sometimes you just have to take what you get. My miniature Sheltie is as likely to lay on her back like this at any time and when I saw her I had to take the photo.

017

This last photo may take a bit of explaining. How many of you know it is a plug tray of begonias? There is probably 150 or so begonia plants stuffed in this tray. Each cell can be popped out and planted in a larger container. The reason it is in this box with clear plastic underneath is to concentrate the watering process. When the plugs get this size the water cannot get past the leaves to the roots. By using this process the roots can draw moisture from below.

COB Badge

Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: April 16, 2017

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in cees oddball photo challenge, Pets, Photo Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: April 16, 2017

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Joe, I’m so glad you decided to play along this week. Wonderful photos.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

