Daily Prompt – State of Your Year

daily

The Daily Prompt for July 29th is to review the state of the year up to this point. How you do this I suppose is subjective. You could focus on your personal events, your business life or simply your blogging. I am blessed to enjoy a great year, with a trip to the Bahamas with my children and their high school band, a brief beach trip with my wife’s family and the biggest event, the graduation of my first child.

These are all unusual events that have been anticipated for some time. But they are obviously the kind of events that don’t come every year. Unless, of course you are the Duggar family with so many kids that graduation is a yearly ritual. We aren’t. The graduation of our son was the first for us and we had a very good time, with lots of family and friends, food, fun and fabulous weather. But i really would like to look at the state of my writing at this point.

I found WordPress in October of last year and used the balance of 2012 to find my way. As the year ended I could count a little over 1450 views of my blog posts. In all I created 61 posts before the year came to a close. Some of them received a view or two, but as time went on and i came to know other bloggers the attention to them increased. It is all about establishing your brand, something I learned about early on. People want to know you are a proven commodity, that you will not only publish frequently, but that you publish posts worth reading.

Just yesterday I posted my 300th effort. Three hundred times I have collected my thoughts, photos or fiction and put them out for others to read. Like many bloggers I ultimately want to transition to a status of being an author. Over these seven months of 2013 I have not only completed a manuscript, I am about three quarters of the way through a final edit. I have lined up some Beta readers so i can polish it and send it away for publishing.

In all I consider 2013 to be my finest year of writing, even with five months remaining. I entered a few writing contests, with no real success. But As i continue to learn, it is all a part of the process of building a brand as a writer. The more I do, the more connections I make, the better for me when i get to the point of sending my book out into the marketplace.

Unlike the State of the Union when unreal promises are made by the current office holder, I will make realistic ones. Such as:

  1. I will continue to provide my readers with high quality posts to entertain their minds.
  2. I will visit the continually expanding circle of blogging friends to support their dream and broaden my knowledge.
  3. I will work to make the manuscript I create my best writing work, so that it can entertain and succeed in the market.
  4. I will share my knowledge with others as i figure out more of the blogging experience.

This is my state of my writing as of July’s end. What will it be in five more months? I invite you to rerun to find out. Until then, happy reading.

More State of Your Year responses

  1. Daily Prompt: State of My Year | AnnaMaenator
  2. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | flow of my soul
  3. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | The Daily Post « The Blogging Path
  4. What I Learned At Law School (The Abridged Version) | E & E
  5. 29 july Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Family, Photos, Food and Craft
  6. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Turbulent | Jazrylle Lel
  7. Ticks on the calender | 2 times pink
  8. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Your Daily Dose
  9. Daily Prompt : State of Your Year >>> Showing you MY NOW | From Ground to Home
  10. Before and After | Sappy Chick
  11. The State of My Year | Nanuschka’s Blog
  12. Daily Prompt: State of “Me” Post (SOMP – or My Year Thus Far) | Pinay New Yorker
  13. ✭✮ state of the poet ✭✮ | The RunningFather Blog
  14. State of My Year | lilcreepygirl
    1. Beasties, B****cks and Bullshit Detectors! State of My Year! | alienorajt
    2. Now. | suzie81’s Blog
    3. State of Geek Ergo Sum address | Geek Ergo Sum
    4. The Tri-State Area | Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | likereadingontrains
    5. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Vagabond
    6. 2013: State of My Year – So Far | Love. Life.
    7. This is MY Year | Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Being a Huntress
    8. Chaos, panic and disorder | Echoes and Whispers
    9. Respectless the respectful way | Le Drake Noir
    10. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | George and Nigel
    11. Aprons and kerchiefs and brooms, oh my! | Relax…
    12. DP: Now | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
    13. The State of Me is Better Than the State of You-Know-What | The Jittery Goat
    14. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year ~ NOW In the Campo | In Da Campo
    15. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year « Mama Bear Musings
    16. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Motherhood and Beyond
    17. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Retired2Travel
    18. We Are OK | Sorta-Ginger
    19. Daily Prompt: So Far, So Good | SERENDIPITY
    20. State of the Year | A Good One
    21. Daily Prompt: State of Year – Sunny with bright spells and a threat of cloud. | fibijeeves
    22. Daily Prompt: State of My Year | I Work for a Jerk
    23. In This Moment | Sincerely, Ms. Roberts
    24. The State of My Year (To Date) | Practical Business
    25. Mid year and the hound | Hope* the happy hugger
    26. Unperfected times | Defined Imperfection♡s
    27. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Under the Monkey Tree
    28. Now | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
    29. Traffic Jam | windandlaughter
    30. Staying in Focus: Daily Prompt: State of My Year | Staying in Focus
    31. the time has come | FamousFeline
    32. State of My Year | Karma’s When I Feel Like It Blog
    33. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
    34. The Wonder Year [Daily Prompt: State of Your Year] | unknowinglee
    35. Reflecting on the progress of my life. . . Hmm… (Daily Prompt) | Running with Reality
    36. My year so far | Sue’s Trifles
    37. Weekly Phoneography: Donna and I | weliveinaflat
    38. 2013: The year of accomplishments | Things I See and Know
    39. Resting State… | Haiku By Ku
    40. Now… | The Rider
    41. Keeping motivated when you meet bumps in the road | discovering anywhere
    42. Shitty! That’s the State of My Year | My Beautiful Breakdown
    43. Daily Prompt: My Year Thus Far | Ruminations from an Introvert
    44. State of my year | My outlook
    45. Daily Prompt: How to Annoy the Fortune Teller | One Starving Activist
    46. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Valley Girl Gone Country
    47. Daily challenge:now | Lavender Moon Girl’s Blog
    48. State of the year as I know it | tornin2’s Blog
    49. Half Way There | meanderedwanderings
    50. State of my year… | Dog-Eared
    51. Midyear 2013 at the moment | The Nameless One
    52. State of My Year : mid year crisis….NOT! : DAILY PROMPT | Kaleidoscopic World in Words
    53. The Rambling Diaries : Mid-Year Report | The Rambling Diaries
    54. State Of Your Year: 3 Steps To Making Your Goals Happen | DEAN’S DAILY DOSE
    55. State Of My Year So Far « Getting Rid Of Boredom
    56. DP: State of My Year… THY WORD (Psalm 119:105) | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
    57. As For Me | clarior e tenebris
    58. Daily Prompt: The State of My Year | More than a Cat
    59. State of Disunion | shortsandskirts
    60. How I Reached My Inner Wonder Woman | Molly Greye
    61. Lucky ’13 | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
    62. Still on Dry Land – WP Daily Prompt Mid Year Update | kemkoh
    63. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | reyoflight
    64. To the Creators of Now – Thanks for ruining my day | The Seeker’s Dungeon
    65. Now What? Musings of a Modern Vampire Mom | Vampire Maman
    66. Angels in stunning astronaut pants
    67. 2013: January – July | Everyday Adventures
    68. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Life is great
    69. State of Your Year: My Garden Here & Now | Khana’s Web
    70. In need of motivation | Musings of a Suburban Creampuff
    71. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Whimsical Eclecticist
    72. Daily Prompt: State of Year Address | don of all trades
    73. It is what it is | Angels in stunning astronaut pants
    74. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Far from Done
    75. State of the Year: A Prose Poem | The Jackal’s Dance
    76. My top five things about right now… | My Top Fives…
    77. The Time Is Now | The Magic Black Book
    78. The talking of the soul with itself. | The Flavored Word
    79. Create from my year | antfantasy
    80. Lost & Found | Real Life Co.
    81. The state of my year | 365 wings of hope
    82. How To Assess Where You’re At | Pairings: Art + What Goes With It
    83. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | as i was saying…
    84. What is the State of my Year? | Death by Differential Equations
    85. Washed out | Rob’s Surf Report
    86. So Far This Year | I’m a nerd and I know it.
    87. New Beginnings | Taking One Day At A Time
    88. Daily Prompt: State of your year… » My Life, My Way, My Words
    89. State of my Year | shedthestones
    90. Daily Prompt: NOW | The Adventure Diaries
    91. State of My Year | A Day in the Life Of…
    92. State of My Year. | FadingSunlight
    93. State of My Year | Mme Solitaire
    94. My Year (So Far) | Daily Prompt | Word Disorder
    95. Daily Prompt: State of Your Year | Overcoming Bloglessness
    96. …So slowly… | Polyprotic Amory
    97. State of My Year | Baby Gates Down
    98. Eleanow Willow so far (2013) | Legends of Lorata
    99. What does BC & AC mean to you? | lil honey dreams
    100. Daily Prompt: Now | sukies original
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt – State of Your Year

  1. Pingback: Washed out | Rob's Surf Report

  2. thanks for sharing all of the Daily Prompt posts, mine included!

  3. alienorajt says:

    Delighted to hear about your writing and blogging successes, Joe: 300 posts is a great achievement. You have an elegant and spare writing style; I like it! Alienora

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

