April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Ten- Jesus

I struggled with what to use for my J topic. i thought about Justification, Jocularity, Jokes, the television series Justified and even considered a cheesy post about me since the letter starts my name. Thankfully I came to my senses before I wasted my time or yours with one of those lesser choices. Unfortunately for both of us I can write about most anything, even if it is the wrong choice for a topic.

I have posted a few topics within this challenge that have a religious meaning. Absolution, Edification and Heaven. So I would be remiss if i did not tackle the most important topic with the letter J I can think of: Jesus. You know who he is I trust. Son of God, second part of the Trinity, the one who came to earth to live among the common man, Prince of Peace, Lord of Lords. The adjectives could easily fill up this space, but that is too easy.

I have known Jesus as my personal saviour for three decades. I have learned of this teaching and miracles in countless Sunday and Wednesday night classes where His words are illuminated and explained. Jesus did not have to set aside his place in heaven to come offer us salvation, but he did. He chose this knowing we would not stop sinning when he died on the cross at Calvary. He knew we would sin even after we accepted His love and invited him into our heart.

In a show of ultimate love He sacrificed His place in Heaven and life on earth for us so we can have a way to Heaven. We will have an eternal resting place away from sin, sickness, death, and all the other horrible experiences of this world we so loathe. In Heaven all we will care about is praising God the Father and Jesus.

 

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Faith, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Ten- Jesus

  1. entirely appreciate your highlight of Jesus. wish more of us, esp me, were confident enough to say it loud and proud!

  2. hi Joe … up until today, whenever i remember Jesus’ ultimate sacrifice and painful death so that my sins will be forgiven, i tear up! it just touches my heart how much HE need not have done it, but because of HIS love for me, Jesus did so. sorry for being too personal, i am reminded by an illustration that even if it were just me on earth, HE would still come and die for me so i can be with HIM, the sad truth though, i would be the one to nail HIM on the cross …

  3. Your post cued “I Walked Today Where Jesus Walked” in my head. One of my favorite anthems. Unlike Mary Magdalene in Jesus Christ Superstar, who lamented, “I Don’t Know How to Love Him,” I do know how to love him: with all my heart.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

