April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Nine – Isaac

How can I come to this letter of the alphabet in this A to Z challenge and not write about the most important I in my life? Not me, my son Isaac. Eighteen years ago today I eagerly awaited the birth of my first child. We had no idea if the first would be a boy or a girl because I chose not to find out. I liked the mystery. In truth I had the girl’s name picked out early on and really did not think too much about a boy name. As a result we were scrambling toward the end of the pregnancy to come up with acceptable names if we were blessed with qa son.

Obviously we were blessed with a fine young man. My son is taller than me, and admittedly better looking. He is eagerly anticipating graduation from high school in forty-seven days. Before that he will attend his second prom. The picture I include here of him in his tuxedo was from last year’s prom. This year the prom is on the 20th and that is two days after the letter P is used on April 18th. I think he rocked the formal wear, don’t you?

Senior Night & Pictures 274 Senior Night & Pictures 296 Senior Night & Pictures 299 Prom2012 029

Isaac is a musician, with the ability to sing as well as play multiple instruments, Including the trumpet, mellophone, french horn and guitar. He has the ability to stand before any size crowd without the first hint of nerves. Performing is something he enjoys more than anything. If he can find a way to do that for a living I know he will succeed. He also has the ability to memorize scads of lines for the youth church plays and always thrills the audience with his flair for humor.

He enjoys hunting for whatever is in season or being a pest. Any kind of firearm interests him as well. He got to where he was able to deal with some of the legion of wild rabbits that threatened to get fat on our garden last year. When I watch him shoot at targets with a rifle or shotgun it looks like he was made for the job.

My prayer for both of my children since they were small is that God would prepare someone from them to be a perfect mate. It is probably one of my most important prayers other than wishing each of them established a relationship with Christ. With that matter determined I want to concentrate on praying for their happiness in marriage. I know Isaac will be a good husband. I have tried very hard to give him a good, bible based example he can learn from.

So, now you have read my entry for the letter I. I  look forward to reading yours!

absolution

Of course, being a Christian I will focus on the definition associated with Protest Theology. Probably the most famous bible verse of all John 3:16 promises eternal life to anyone who receives Jesus into their heart. By doing this one confesses all sins past, present and future and receives absolution from our Creator. This is a privilege reserved for anyone who is willing to admit their sins, ask forgiveness and live a life according to the principles presented in the Holy Bible.

Absolution is a big gift that is extended to us by God through the person of Jesus. The Saviour set aside his position in Heaven to come to earth and live as a man for thirty-three years to allow us to have the opportunity to receive absolution. The recently past holiday of Easter highlights the day when Christ was resurrected from the dead. This was all a part of God’s plan from the beginning. It is a blessing we would be foolish to reject. I hope if you do not know the peace of a life with Christ this will speak to you and compel you to know more.

SPECIAL NOTE : I would like to use this space to offer a heartfelt thank you to Arlee Byrd, the founder of this challenge. I am happy to see his vision become such a great success. Leaders always step out of the pack to create something special. We want Arlee to know how much we appreciate his genius.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April A to Z Blogging Challenge – Day Nine – Isaac

  1. M_M_Pollard says:

    What a special tribute to your son! MM

  2. you’re boy looks charming! What a great accomplishment as a father, and a son! Congratulations on graduation and prom. My son is 10 but I know it’ll feel like tomorrow when he’s standing in your son’s shoes!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

