Daily Prompt – Twenty Five

Daily Prompt

There are 26 letters in the English language, and we need every single one of them. Want proof? Choose a letter and write a blog post without using it. (Feeling really brave? Make it a vowel!)

Leaving one of the twenty-six letters of the alphabet out of a post doesn’t sound so hard. But when you really think about it, which could you excuse? With so many to choose you would expect one or two to be easily excluded. But is this a truthful thought?

I am writing now and thinking of a letter I will not use. Will I be successful? It is a mystery even to me at this point. You see the more you write the more letters you consume. It may not seem so hard, but in fact it is.

I am a long time writer and try very hard to stretch my vocabulary by adding new words. if you have spent any time with a thesaurus you understand their are many words that mean the same thing you can use to broaden your vocabulary reach. This being true it means you can exclude a letter or word every now and then.

Being conscious of the letter  intend to excuse I am able to avoid any words with that letter. Have you figured out which letter it is yet? To the best of my knowledge without careful proofreading I have been able to avoid using two letters of the alphabet. To engage conversation I intend to not enumerate them so you may as you read my post. Think of it as a bonus post with a puzzle included. I look forward to your response.

Other Twenty Five Posts:

  1. Daily Post: Twenty-Five | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
  2. Ilya Fostiy. Muse | Philosophy & Photography
  3. Kicking out X or Z? | Q the Adult
  4. Ella Minnow Pea | Spirit Lights The Way
  5. Do we really need all 26 letters? | Being Special
  6. W‘Sup Duck? | The Jittery Goat
  7. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  8. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five – “Without You” | Mostly Just Fiction
  9. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five, Alphabet Soup | Lines by Linda
  10. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | likereadingontrains
  11. Daily Prompt: Twenty Five | بيسان
  12. Revisiting the 500 words with no I | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  13. The 21st Letter « Sorta-Ginger
  14. Daily Prompt – Twenty Five | Joe’s Musings
  15. The S-sense of it | The Daily Dilly Dally
  16. Daily Prompt – No o’s? | polysyllabic profundities
  17. No plurals allowed… | sat n’ all that
  18. _EIOU | Chasing The Bubble
  19. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | La chica de la burbuja
  20. My mind has just boggled… | Hope* the happy hugger
  21. Life is Never Fair. | Great. I’m daydreaming again.
  22. etaoin shrdlu cmfwyp vbgkjq xz | The Nameless One
  23. Urban Myths In My Society | Never Stationary
  24. Bravely | thematticuskingdom
  25. WordPress Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five — A Poem of 4 Vowels | Sandra Conner … By The Book
  26. Peggy and Puggy in Miami | MC’s Whispers
  27. New Harry Potter book covers…how old am I?! | doctorandmrso
  28. Dodging ‘S’, I declare to be trouble-free | MindBlur
  29. I lost a letter from the alphabet | My thought exactly…!
  30. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Kerry Dwyer
  32. A Blog’s Life
  33. DP: As easy as Twenty-Five | A Blog’s Life
  34. Daily Prompt: 25 | One Starving Activist
  35. What a Terrible Weekend | This Thread Sucks
  36. Non-U… Daily Prompt | Very Very
  37. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Kaleidoscopic World in Words
  38. TheDeafia » Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five (No G)
  39. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  40. Daily Prompt: 25 Letter_! | Chicago Gore
  41. If I had a brain… | thelissachronicles
  42. Head Of British State Recovers From Stomach Flu… Right When We Accept A Challenge To Avoid Certain Letters Of The Alphabet. | NotTheWorstNews
  43. Daily Prompt: Twenty Five | Ramblings of a jerk
  44. Fairy Tales | amateurxpress
  45. MYN YND WYMYN | aapatawaran
  46. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five, It’s No “U”se | Dagdia Island
  47. The Daily Prompt Challenge | Bill McMorrow
  48. What letter am I avoiding? | The Daily Prompt | To Stay Alive
  49. Without… «Natalie Elizabeth Beech Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  50. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Pondering Spawned
  51. Daily Prompt – And Sometimes Nada | melanielynngriffin
  52. 24 Letters Daily Prompt or The Wicked Wizard of Word Press. | Rachael’s insane rants and bizarre musings
  53. To Give or Not To Give | toastandgems
  54. A Sign Of Life
  55. Twenty five letters only | Blog of Leonid Mamchenkov
  56. New post Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Family Photos Food & Craft
  57. 228 – no ‘E’ | brent’s iPhone 4S & japan
  58. Daily Prompt: you arx important | inkblots & blood clots
  59. In the Absence of a G | ARay of Sunshine
  60. No U-Turns | This Is My Corn
  61. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Basically Beyond Basic
  62. Terror & Darkness | Hasta Que mi Corazón Explote…
  63. Flash Fiction: Sleepy Boy (260 words) | apprentice, never master
  64. Listen to Your Heart | Wiley’s Wisdom
  65. Unease | Mike Sensitivity
  66. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | That’s What She Said
  67. The season of growth and other thoughts on London | The Ineffable and Unutterable Musings Of A Mad Man
  68. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five | Learning, Running, and Writing
  69. A Gutsy and Daring Fish Story | Breathing Space
  70. Daily Prompt: Twenty-Five « Mama Bear Musings
  71. Life Without X | The Artist Mindset
  72. LEFT FOR DEAD | hastywords
  73. Twenty-five | Things I See and Know
  74. Missing: The Letter Between N and P | iBelieve
  75. It’s The Wrong Season – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur
  76. Mi ing letter | Nicola Higgins’ Fiction
  77. Worthless and Awkward Sans a Vowel | Eden Creamer
  78. Reflections: The Holy Longing… | Mirth and Motivation

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Daily Prompt – Twenty Five

  1. eof737 says:

    Beautiful… and thanks for the pingback! 😉

  2. Pingback: It’s The Wrong Season – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Z was my first thought but then saw puzzle. I saw no J and that is one I use all the time by using the word just. I though G, but saw that right away. Q was one I looked for immediately. I enjoyed the challenge.

  4. Pingback: LEFT FOR DEAD | hastywords

  5. Pingback: The season of growth and other thoughts on London | The Ineffable and Unutterable Musings Of A Mad Man

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!