Up and Down – Friday Fictioneers – 3/8/13

Welcome to the weekly interpretation of a photo we affectionately call the Friday Fictioneers. Each week Rochelle Wisof-Fields sets out a visual prompt and we, her humble lackeys, pound our keyboards in search of a fitting one hundred word description of what we see.

Copyright - Jennifer Pendergast

Copyright – Jennifer Pendergast

This week’s photo is from Jennifer Pendergast and is one of the more challenging to me of late.

Genre (General Fiction)

Kara’s head spun as she looked up into the spiraling staircase.

John was up there, she knew he was.

If she could just overcome her fear and ascend the steps they could finally be together.

She made sure to stay as close to the wall as possible as she ascended. “No looking down,” she told herself.

At the top of the stairs she called for John.

She heard his voice, but it came from far below.

A look over the top rail revealed him standing at the bottom, with his heart warming smile, dimples cutting into his cheeks.

 



About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Up and Down – Friday Fictioneers – 3/8/13

  1. jwdwrites says:

    Hi Joe, she obviously loves him a lot to push herself like that. Like Lingeringvisions I wonder how she will get on coming back down! Nice story.

  2. JackieP says:

    it’s not often I read a heart warming story from our little group. Nice to finally read one. Well done!

    • Joe Owens says:

      I thank you for the kind words. i try to give a positive spin to my 100 word bursts. With more to work with I might introduce a conflict so that I can work to resolve it.

  3. Dear Joe,

    Good read from a tough prompt.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Very good story, in its simplicity it stills have many way to be understood. Great

  5. elappleby says:

    Hi Joe
    I thought this was great! I wonder if he was winding her up – I bet there’s a lift and when she gets to the bottom he’ll be back up at the top 😀

  6. Rochelle’s comment was the “aha” moment! He came down to meet her 🙂 beautiful!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!