Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Cemeteries & Tombstones – 08/08/17

This week the topic is Cemeteries and Tombstones.

168

During our second visit to Arlington National Cemetery this past Independence Day we made the arduous climb across the massive cemetery to witness the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Solider. On this particular day there was families placing wreaths in memory of those resting forever here.

166

While I am just a touch too young to have witnessed the splendor of the Camelot presidency I do still find all the mystique surrounding the Kennedy’s to be intriguing. We swung by the Eternal Flame on our way up to the Tomb of the Unknown.

163

If the neat rows of tombstones doesn’t affect you while at this solemn place you have no heart. Often there is heard the sentiment that freedom is not free and everyone that occupies a piece of space here knew that very well.

ceme1

You know I had to include some kind of model railroad shot and I remembered this little scene from a train show in North Carolina. The quality is not so great because I think I was in a hurry that day and did not think to retry the picture this year.

cffc

 

 

 

 

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge 08/08/17

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Cemeteries & Tombstones – 08/08/17

  1. Allan G. Smorra says:

    Very touching photos, Joe.
    Ω

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!