Three Things Thursday – July 20, 2017

My fourth run in Three Things Thursday where it is your goal to share three happy things you experienced in the seven days past. There is a new host for this weekly collection of happy, Natalie @ There She Goes just picked up the hosting duties from Nerd in the Brain. I met Natalie during the recent 2017 A to Z Challenge and I know she will do a fabulous job with this!

001

fbgrnbean

I know this will seem a strange choice to many if not most of you. Especially if you have never grown your own green beans, picked them and canned them for later use. But for the past three to four years we have struggled with a green bean deficit due to an overpopulation of groundhogs and rabbits. This year we constructed a 32 foot raised bed and so far have recouped 41 quarts of green beans. I even declared victory on my Facebook feed!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

014

After some difficulty getting everyone’s calendars aligned I finally got to enjoy a day on the river in a kayak with my family. It is one of my favorite outdoor activities these days. This time of the summer is pretty toasty so we were plenty hot by the time we completed the five mile adventure.

001

In my role as the Missions Director in my church it is a responsibility to determine and shepherd along projects for the congregation. One of the major projects for this year is collecting chapter books for about 200 kids in Belize that attend a community center of sorts where they get help with homework, play games, and enjoy a library. During this week I was overjoyed at the number of volunteers who turned out to help sort and classify the books by age group and reading level.

What things are you thankful for in your life this week? Why not take a moment to be thankful for the blessings God has sprinkled into your life?

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Three Things Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Three Things Thursday – July 20, 2017

  1. That’s a lot of green beans! Congratulations on outsmarting the critters.

  2. Joe Owens says:

    Alan somehow I deleted your comment trying to reply. Yes the beans came off the vine in very good shape. But we are in a mini-drought over the last five weeks and having to try to water the green bean vines for one more pick before I rip them out and try another planting.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

