Walk or Die – Friday Fictioneers – 21 March

We come to another Wednesday which to 100 or so hardy souls means it is time to fib. Okay, maybe tell a fantastical tale sounds more respectful, but either way we are spinning a yarn about something our minds concoct based on a photograph chosen specifically by our gracious hostess with the mostess, Rochelle. This week Rochelle pulls double duty giving us the photo for our subject.

copyright -Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

(Genre:Fiction) (100 words)

****************************

“It wouldn’t hurt you to walk instead of riding that death trap,” Susan barked. She turned to head for the stairs to their third floor apartment. Jim continued his path into the classic elevator.

“This machine will still be working long after we are both dead and gone.”

He could hear her grumbling as she moved on her way.

“Always trying to ‘help me’”, he said shaking his head.

Eighty seconds later he mounted the last steps to his apartment after surviving the first elevator failure in a half century.

“What are you doing?”

“Taking your advice,” Jim said. 

 

  *********************************************

friday-fictioneers

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Walk or Die – Friday Fictioneers – 21 March

  1. Lyssa Medana says:

    That made me smile.

    I’ve been talking to Thomas Marlowe and we are both missing the Trifecta Challenge. One thing led to another and we have decided to set up Light and Shade Challenge where there are prompts twice every week and a chance to share what inspiration strikes.

    We are not trying to be the same as Trifecta. They were awesome and I miss them. We do have some really exciting ideas of our own, though and can’t wait to see what happens. It would be great if you could come and join us and see where this journey takes us. Good writers are always welcome. If you have any questions then get in touch either on the Light and Shade Challenge Blog http://lightandshadechallenge.blogspot.co.uk/ or on the Facebook page. It would be wonderful to hear from you. Lyssa M x

  2. One of the few stories that ends on a happy note. Well done 🙂

  3. Nan Falkner says:

    Good story – I like old elevators but they scare me. Good story! Thanks, Nan

  4. Carrie says:

    Ha! See, his wife was right 😉

  5. EagleAye says:

    At least this one didn’t die in that accursed elevator. I like the detail of 80 seconds. Fun story!

  6. JudahFirst says:

    I think you should title it “Eighty Seconds”. 🙂 Nice job!

  7. He can always look at the steps as additional exercise. 🙂 The photo, though, isn’t Adam’s this week, it’s Rochelle’s so you’d best mend that before her wet noodle comes down on you!

    janet

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!