Speakeasy 146 – The Stranger

The instructions for Speakeasy 146:

The last line in this Speakeasy should be: “I sat there and waited, but he never came back.” Also, there should be some reference to the video clip below from the British comedy show, Bladder the third.

************************************************************************

For weeks I sat on the wooden bench beside the large duck pond. At first I sat there for inspiration as I had this interest in creating some art work centered on the beauty of the pond, the sun and the water fowl. Then there were the boys and fathers that brought their model sailboats for a try. It seemed the potential subjects were never ending. My teacher was so enthralled with my sudden burst of inspiration and even suggested my classmates try this too.

But I found too much attention distracted me from finding the right scene to give life on my canvass. So much activity ruined the peace of the place for me. My quality began to suffer and I had no one to blame but myself. I longed for that peace again and solitude so I could regain the brilliance I briefly enjoyed. But then something wonderful happened. The handsome stranger, with his fancy camera appeared one day. He seemed to be as enamored with the site as I was when I discovered it, snapping copious pictures all around the pond.

My canvas came alive again as I captured his adventures in my art. He was mysterious, yet invitingly charming in the way he interacted with everyone. I found myself immediately drawn to this stranger, wishing I could strut right up to him and strike up a conversation. But no, that was not in my personality. I always felt more comfortable to stay in the shadows and observe until I saw the right time.

The stranger came every day and every day I found another way to incorporate his form in my work. Once again I caught the attention of my teacher. She wondered about the stranger as well. I think she hinted I should find out more, but I acted as if I did not hear her encouragement.

I knew his time could not go on forever as there were only so many photographs one could take. The urgency begin to creep into my mind and I finally steeled my resolve to approach him. For some reason I could hear an echo of a nonsensical word from my past that a friend called me once due to my stubbornness about approaching a man. Stacie, my best friend since Kindergarten said it was because I had a horrid case of Contrafibularity. I looked it up, but it is not even a real word.

Back to the pond with my new plan, I got nearly nothing done on my canvas, because I watched every direction for sign of the stranger. I sat there and waited, but he never came back.

  ************************************************************************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Speakeasy, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Speakeasy 146 – The Stranger

  1. J. Milburn says:

    So many opportunities missed. I’ve had the same feeling before. Good story!

  2. mandyblake95 says:

    Sometimes you just have to seize the moment, or it will pass you by. Great job, this was a really fun read.

  3. Esther says:

    Oooh, a little mystery. The tension the narrator feels is clear — what frustration!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

