Trifecta-Week Ninety-Six – Animal

Monday morning at 10 AM we get another prompt from Trifecta. You don’t know who Trifecta is? It is a group that provides two prompts each week, on Monday and Friday for your fiction writing pleasure. The Monday prompt is geared to fall between 33 and 333 words and based on a one word prompt. Using the third definition from the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary you will put together a fiction masterpiece. Along with the other nearly 100 writers taking the plunge you will create an exciting story for others to read.

This is another installment of my serial story about the adventures of Sophia Marcus, homicide detective. You can read the preceding chapters at this page: Detective Sophie Marcus

With that said let’s get on to the word for Trifecta Week Ninety-Six

ANIMAL (noun)

1  :  any of a kingdom (Animalia) of living things including many-celled organisms and often many of the single-celled ones (as protozoans) that typically differ from plants in having cells without cellulose walls, in lacking chlorophyll and the capacity for photosynthesis, in requiring more complex food materials (as proteins), in being organized to a greater degree of complexity, and in having the capacity for spontaneous movement and rapid motor responses to stimulation2 a :  one of the lower animals as distinguished from human beings

:  mammal; broadly :  vertebrate

3  :  a human being considered chiefly as physical or nonrational; also :  this nature

– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.Pb2N5ArO.dpuf

 ★★★★★★

“Detective Welling can you tell us what leads you have in Commissioner Kord’s son’s case?” It was Kelli Foulke, beat reporter for the City Standard. She was the first to get words out, as she and her camera man blocked the detective’s path to Marta Kord’s home.

“Right now we have several leads and will supply information when it is pertinent,” Welling answered. He shuffled to his left to sidestep the young blonde, with Sophie close behind. They nodded to the officer at the door and ducked inside to a circus of activity.

Martha Kord had a cadre of personal assistants scrambling in her spacious entry area, many of them with cell phones clamped to their ear. One man stood out as he directed the activities of the others. He noticed the two detectives and waved them over.

“You can have ten minutes, no more,” he said as he resumed his duties.

Waving them toward a side room, he continued to direct his surrogates with no hesitation, showing he was able to multi-task with ease.

Entering the one hundred square foot living room they were greeted by a pricey black grand piano to their left and a six foot portrait of Marta Kord on an opposite wall. It was obviously from years before and seemed to be retouched to edit any imperfections.

“Let me save you some time,” Marta said as she swept into the room, dispensing with the expected pleasantries. “I have two hundred fifty witnesses who will attest I was at the Pelican Bay fund raiser at the time my son was murdered. I think you should be after that animal ex-husband of mine, he stands to gain the most from Konrad’s death.”

“How’s that?” Sophie asked.

“A twenty-five million dollar trust my daddy established for Konrad will roll back to our joint account. Divorce terms make it split 50-50.”

“Doesn’t that make you equally suspect?” Sophie asked.

“My dear, daddy left me two hundred million. Your commissioner is nearly broke.”

 ***********************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Trifecta-Week Ninety-Six – Animal

  1. ‘Cadre’ is one of my favorite words. I love the tension in this piece. Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to vote!

  2. margitsage says:

    Sounds like a complicated plot. I like your descriptions.

  3. Tara R. says:

    I like the bee-hive of activity descriptions, it helps build the tension in this piece.
    The only thing I had trouble with is that it wasn’t clear to me until the end that Martha/Marta was not the commissioner.

  4. steph says:

    Well done. The commissioner himself is involved. That always ramps up the tension.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!