Reading, Writing and Arithmetic

Sometimes gathering info for a post is like a field trip.

Sometimes gathering info for a post is like a field trip.

My blogging adventure on Word Press started the week Super storm Sandy tore through the Northeast. As a matter of fact, my first post was on the storm, but when it was originally labeled the Frankenstorm. It was coming on Halloween and the media was going ape over the whole concept.

That was 120 posts and 4,000+ visits ago, back at the end of October 2012. I know it is not a long time relative to some others I know here, but it is long enough to consider the subject of this post. I named it Reading , Writing and Arithmetic for a specific reason. Now before you turn away I am not about to rage on the inadequacies of the educational system in the United States, although that may come in a later post.

This is actually about the place I find myself in as a writer. I liken it to a quandary of sorts, where it is difficult to determine what is the best approach. I hope many of you with more experience can enlighten me about the best approach to my problem.

It is no surprise that I like to wrote. Wait, let me restate this. I LOVE to write. I have written stories in one form or another for several years. It is something that makes me extremely happy. I like creating a believable story rich with strong characters and a solid plot.

But I also realize I must read to see how others write so i can improve my style. Reading takes time. So does writing. So does my job. So does my family. You get the point. My struggle is deciding how much of each to do.

Then there is the final component of my title, Arithmetic. Certainly this numeric subject could  relate to generating money from my perceived talent, but it does not. You see I am a metrics lover. I blame it on my love of statistics. I love looking to see how many views my blog has each day. Probably I like it too much.

When it increases I get excited, when it decreases I wonder why.  Some of this fluctuation is expected, I know. If you don’t write new posts, there is not likely to be anyone reading your blog. But taking the time to create quality subjects is, again, one of the issues I struggle against.

lately I have been responding to the Daily Post as the well of subjects seems to be dry. I link back to the post and even include the posts of others in the body of my post. This generates some views, but is not as good as an original post.

So I will put these questions out to the community. How do you manage this combination of tasks?

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading, Writing and Arithmetic

  1. happyoldbag says:

    I’ve set up and deleted many blogs over the years. I find the more I limit myself on a subject the more interest I receive. I tried doing a random blog about my day-to-day life but I bored myself (and most probably everyone else) rigid. As soon as I started a blog about a specific thing like crafting or gardening I had more interest. I blog because I enjoy writing but since my writing style is chatty it is limited to blogging. Good luck!

  2. I like blogging, but I find that the reading part takes much more time than I expected. Still, I like to see what other people are doing. And yes, I love statistics, so I can relate to you on that. I try not to worry when the numbers go down suddenly.

  3. mindofshoo says:

    I try to write what I want to write and not worry about what others may think about it. I admit when I write something I like and no one seems to read it I find it depressing. I have only one post that I thought was really good that I got lots of feedback. I have to be filled from within with what I write and I feel I am getting that. I am not here to change anyone’s life or anything. Just a place to try to improve. Maybe a reader or two will go I enjoyed that or related to that. I enjoy reading your post and I feel I have similiar struggles at time that you write about. 🙂

  4. This is the endless struggle – juggling all the balls of life and hope they fall into words that make up a post people will love and share.

    I’m sorry, but I have no answers for you. I know that in blogging, I have good weeks and bad weeks. Some weeks I can dedicate a lot of time to blogging/writing and others I just have to let my expectations go. Life comes first.

    Best wishes on this journey to find balance. I know you’ll find a rhythm that works for you.
    ~FringeGirl

    • Tadalena says:

      Joe,
      Why not try something new for a change? It is not like you cannot find something else to write. You have more than cancer, two dead parents, a dead brother, and Belize in your life. Write about that beautiful wife of yours, your two amazing children, and or about how you met the one woman who gives your life meaning. It doesn’t have to inspire to be worthy of your efforts. Just write!
      *Remember one thing above all else if no one is ‘liking’ or ‘reading’ it is NOT always personal. Some of the time, we have other things going on that hold our attention. Life is for living and sharing with the living. I enjoy your work, but I would rather hang out with you than the same ole same ole.

      Love ya man,

      Taddy

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

