Pay No Attention to the Cabana – Friday Fictioneers – 10 January

Welcome back to the addictive fun of Friday Fictioneers! You know the best fiction can be found right here. Led by  Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, we take the photo and weave our magic with prose and poetry to entertain you. Dawn Landau has the honor of providing the visual prompt for us this week. All around the world writers eagerly await their weekly tonic.Rochelle is the source of the photo for inspiration this week.

copyright -Dawn Q. Landau

(Genre:Fiction) (100 words)

*************************************************************

“You told me you would buy me a beachfront villa for retirement,” Alice whined.

“So I did, and so I have!” Luther answered.

“This is no villa!”

“What are you a walking dictionary now?”

“You think we can live in this?”

“Our first place was worse than this,” Luther argued.

“I cannot believe you spent actual money for this.”

“You’re never satisfied,” Luther replied.

“Who would be satisfied with this?”

“Harrison Ford loved it,” Luther answered.

“You bought this from him?”

“Yep.”

But I expected more.”

“Wait are you looking at the cabana?”

“What?”

“Step to your right.”

“OH MY!”

*************************************************************************

friday-fictioneers

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Friday Fictioneers, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Pay No Attention to the Cabana – Friday Fictioneers – 10 January

  1. Dee says:

    Nice twist to this, I’m still smiling imagining the scene. Well done Joe

  2. Haha, thank goodness (for all involved!)

  3. Ha, yes that looks like a great cabana.. Sounds like he had broken expectations before.

  4. JackieP says:

    Hm, not very bright of her, huh? haha! I can just imagine what she saw when she stepped to the right.

  5. Well done – I enjoyed it a lot. Step to the right was a perfect ending. Thank you! Nan

  6. Hi Joe,
    Very nice use of miscommunication to create a fantastic conclusion. Ron

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!