Flash in the Pan – Progress

I found a new flash fiction challenge for any and all who enjoy such a test of your writing ability. While flash can mean a lot of things, for this specific challenge it is limited to 100 words or less.  This is my third submission, following Down and Come.

By selecting the words in the quarter’s list you can know your word limit. The exciting thing is that these stories are collected for publication each quarter. But, only the first 250 flashes entered will make the publication, so do not hesitate.

**********************************

“Progress? Who decided bulldozing every living thing in sight and replacing it with concrete and asphalt was progress?” Grandpa groaned.

“It is progress,” Sally replied. “We will have a bigger Wal-Mart.”

“Could you get everything in the smaller one?”

“Sure.”

“So what will a bigger one have that the other did not?”

“More stuff.”

“That is exactly what is wrong with this picture. The other building will be abandoned and instead of having nice trees and grass to enjoy we will have a decaying eye sore,” Grandpa sighed.

“You cannot stop progress.”

“No, but I don’t have to like it!”

 

**********************************

The word limit for Progress is 100 words. Check out http://mommasmoneymatters.com/flash-fiction/ for the rules and to join the fun.

Also, for you Flash in the Pan folks, I want to share another Flash Fiction connection. A friend of mine named Josh Magill is starting a multi-part flash fiction serial in which 13-15 writers will add one hundred word chapters to a collaborative effort. Josh was one of a dozen writers on a similar peoject of mine. If you think this interests you check out Josh’s link.

More Flash in the Pan – Progress responses:

 

The Aware Writer by John

 

Fiction Stories by Kayla

 

How the Cookie Crumbles by Tess

 

Joe’s Musings by Joe

 

Johnbalaya by John

 

Odds and Ends by Laurie

 

Rants & Raves by Grant

 

Taking Candy from a Baby by Candy

 

Won’t Be Shaken by Sam

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Flash in the Pan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flash in the Pan – Progress

  1. Red says:

    I am so with Grandpa. On so many levels. Great flash!

  2. Pingback: PROGRESS: Progredi ,Moving Clocks or Time Dilation (Flash In The Pan) | an honest day or two

  3. Pingback: Now Accepting Submissions | Infinite Press

  4. As I was trying to explain to my adult class, progress doesn’t necessarily mean improvement.

  5. howanxious says:

    what all we do in the name of progress…
    in case you are interested, I’ve started a weekly prompt recently, you can find the latest prompt here- http://howanxious.wordpress.com/2013/07/20/right2write-prompt-3-yarn/
    just thought of informing you.. good day! 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!