Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting

The weekly photo challenge is our chance to show off our photography chops as well as the eye we have at capturing the world around us. There is a commercial right now that talks about how many millions or perhaps billions of photos are snapped each day with mobile phones. I am now part of that number as I have fallen in love with the photos I take with my Windows phone. It is a Nokia Lumina 822 with a very good 8 Mega Pixel camera. WHen I traveled to Belize last December I lugged around a bulky Kodak Easy Share 740 and I am so much happier with this smaller device.

I take a lot of pictures and ease use of this camera phone is fantastic. It is lightweight, yet powerful. I can use it for video and snapshots, so it is also very versatile. In short, it gives me such a range of options it would be hard not to love the device. I feel like I have put it through its paces since I got it, but this week especially I have made it work for me. Our church is finishing up our annual week of Vacation Bible School and I have been busy clicking away.

Fleeting is a great word to describe the experience of a bible school. Over six nights you will have an ever changing set of kids that circulate through your church. I took snapshots of the classes as they came through my missions presentation and I could recognize faces I had not seen on any other night as well as missing some that whatever reason did not return.

WP_20130605_004WP_20130605_007WP_20130605_009

You just never know if any of these kids will ever come back for another bible school. With all the possibilities for kids to be involved in they may not have the opportunity to have fun and learn as they have this week.

Another example of fleeting is something I rarely take time to capture in a photograph: A sunrise. Usually I either am not out early enough or not in a physical position to get a good shot. lately i have been waking early, many days prior to sunrise, and during myearly morning walk this week I foudn myself in the right place at the right time. I hope when you select the picture you can se more. The only regret I have with the windows phone is that I cannot zoom. The way I understand you can take the finished picture and through some cpnnecting programs do this.

I got the following pictures when I made the turn on the gravel road I utilize for walking. This is a rare morning when we are not plagued with overcast skies. It is also prior to the Tropical Storm Andrea effects which is a tremendous amount of cloud cover and intermittent rain. It was a nice change to see a beautiful sunrise as I usually only catch the spectacular sunsets.

WP_20130604_002WP_20130604_001

Another picture I can add to this post is on a large clematis plant in my yard. This photo was taken on the 9th day of May when the plant was in full bloom. It only lasted another two weeks and by then all the blooms were gone.

WP_20130509_006

I had to go get this picture as my ultimate example of Fleeting. I have never seen this anywhere else and it lasted less than a day after we discovered and photographed it.

roll snow 2roll snow 1

This is my response to the weekly photo challenge. I look forward to reading some of yours. You can see others here:

  1. A Fleeting Moment of Childhood | Monochrome
  2. weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Rois
  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Flickr Comments
  4. Modern Aircraft | Empire of Lights
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | This, that and the other thing
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | So where’s the snow?
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting – Joy and Woe
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Ohm Sweet Ohm
  9. Two Seagulls | Forest So Green
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Bullets and Hearts
  11. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic
  12. The Moment is Gone!Things To Rave About | Things To Rave About
  13. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting – Lucky Shot | my cyber house rules
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | What Is It?!?
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Sad Magic
  16. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | scillagrace
  17. Photoworld 7-6-13 | ~~~ nur ein “Klick” ~~~ ein Kompendium
  18. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | بيسان
  19. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | suzie81’s Blog
  20. Weekly Photo Challenge : FLEETING – TERBANG BERAYUN | bambangpriantono
  21. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Today, on Earth
  22. A fleeting moment and random five |
  23. Fleeting (Weekly Photo Challenge) | En Vers et Contre-Champs
  24. Fleeting Joy Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  25. Fleeting Moments | wingrish
  26. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Serenity Sometimes
  27. Fleeting | wingrish
  28. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting: Photo, Poem, Memory | In Love With The Lord Poetry and Prose
  29. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Hope* the happy hugger
  30. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Rooktopia
  31. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | unshaken thoughts
  32. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Moments In Your Life
  33. Weekly Photo Challenge :Fleeting : Friday Evenings.. | Journey Called Life …
  34. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Books I Read
  35. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | From My Horizon
  36. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | masadiso79’s Blog
  37. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Stevie’s Words
  38. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Writing Prompts from Life
  39. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Wind Against Current
  40. Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Brush Strokes And Scribbled Thoughts

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Through the Eye of Bastet

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Mont Beuvray View 2 | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Dead Tree 2 | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Fleeting / Dead Tree | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fleeting | Pilot Fish

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!