Daily Prompt:INTJ

Do parties and crowds fill you with energy, or send you scurrying for peace and quiet?

I have been described as an introvert in my life. There are times I do not feel particularly outgoing and a party just is not the place for me. But this has changed remarkably over the years. When I met my wife I learned what it was like to be part of a larger family. You see my family was just four people, my parents, a brother and me. Our family did not get together very often, just at Christmas time and on Sundays at my grandparents. It was usually low-key, never a part type of interaction.

SavedPicture-2013317183841.jpg

I have been in large crowds though. Within an hour of my home is the Bristol Motor Speedway, a 160,000 seat arena geared toward NASCAR events. When my son and I attended the race this past Sunday the crowd was less than capacity, but estimated a minimum of 80,000. While we were waiting for the beginning of the race we mingled with the mass of others at the trailers where vendors sold their memorabilia. I felt comfortable moving through this and had no urge to run for the hills.

Riding in the afternoon parade at Disney World in 2008.

Riding in the afternoon parade at Disney World in 2008.

I have been to Disney World and to Universal Studios in Florida, which offered large crowds also. While I was aware that there was more to be concerned with, I still felt no unease in either place. Most of the people you encounter are there for fun and just want to go about enjoying their time. In fact you can get to meet some interesting people if you are friendly and ask about their home.

2007 Promise Keepers Stand in the Gap

2007 Promise Keepers Stand in the Gap

 

Probably the biggest crowd I have been in contact with was in Washington D.C., the United States capitol in 1998. The group known as Promise keepers arranged an event called “Stand in the Gap” where Christian men gathered to show we cared about the direction of the country. The crowd estimates numbered up to one and a quarter million men. I was part of a six or eight man group that tired, unsuccessfully to approach the capitol building, where the stage was erected. There was just so many people it was an impossible task.

My wife and I enjoy entertaining at our home. in fact, we are laying out the plans for a celebration for our first child to graduate from high school in May. We have been on hold as the winter weather during January and February altered the school schedule and expected graduation date. We finally know the day and will make plans for 100 or more family and friends to descend on the farm to share this momentous day with us. I can hardly wait!

Other Daily Prompt – INTJ posts

  1. Crowd Control…Of A Different Sort. | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  2. Parties or peace? | Being Special
  3. In the middle, I waited | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  4. I enjoy the noise because | Daily Prompt: INTJ | likereadingontrains
  5. Daily Prompt: INTJ « Mama Bear Musings
  6. On intuition and meeting the author of Shantaram, Mr Gregory David Roberts | Mind Heart Journeys
  7. How I Met Carly Simon | The Jittery Goat
  8. The Quiet Side | Death By Any Other Name
  9. Stuphblog
  10. Confession of a Loner | das Nicht-zuhause-sein
  11. Daily Prompt: INTJ | In Between | Loading…
  12. INTJ? Come again?! | thoughtsofrkh
  13. Daily Prompt: Leave Me Alone | One Starving Activist
  14. what day is it? | thematticuskingdom
  15. Alone again, naturally | The Daily Dilly Dally
  16. INFJ | I solemnly swear i am upto no good!
  17. Broken Personality | This Thread Sucks
  18. Crowd of one | Spunky Wayfarer
  19. 122. The Welcome Home Party: DPChallenge: INTJ | Sofie’s Diary
  20. Excuse me, I’m trying to scurry here…. | polysyllabic profundities
  21. Daily Prompt: Energized or Peace and Quiet? | My Blog
  22. Dilligas? | Paul Scribbles
  23. Daily Prompt: Mingling In The Crowd | Creative Mysteries
  24. Daily Prompt: A Party Gal | Lines by Linda
  25. INFP | thelissachronicles
  26. INTJ | Drama Queen Under the Sun
  27. Riding the Energy Waves | Miss Pelican’s Perch
  28. TONIGHT THE WORLD IS DANCING | hastywords
  29. Peace and Quiet or Parties? | Life, Captioned
  30. Faces in places. Part One. Eighteen images | Philosophy & Photography
  31. Daily Prompt: INTJ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  32. I’ll cry if I want to (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  33. The Misunderstood “I” « Sorta-Ginger
  34. NO PARTY.. | ayimas
  35. Partying Peace | The Nameless One
  36. INTJ | jaycee68
  37. Daily Prompt: INTJ | My Atheist Blog
  38. Daily Prompt: INTJ | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
  39. Daily Prompt: INTJ | Kaleidoscopic World in Words
  40. Daily Prompt: INTJ | cognitive reflection
  41. Daily Prompt: INTJ Scurrying about | baka’s blog
  42. paper bag | theloneshewolf
  43. It’s Just a Matter of Priorities | So I Went Undercover
  44. Daily Prompt: I(NFP) | The Small Girl Chronicles
  45. Where’s the Party? | Charming South
  46. Party Time in Accra #throwback | Travel Making Kai 🙂
  47. Daily Prompt: INTJ | A Western Buddhist’s Travels
  48. To party or not to party? (and some other stuff) | Starlit Corner*
  49. Parties, Crowds, Energy Vampires and You | Your Inner Feathers by Ruby
  50. One lump or two…. | Head full of Fluff
  51. How To Be In A Crowd (Daily Prompt: INTJ) | My Abbitude Problem!
  52. Daily Prompt: INTJ | Code For Confession
  53. do I feel like in the crowd? – Daily Prompt: INTJ | Reunion
  54. THEN and NOW. | one small grain of sand.
  55. Shedding Some Light on Self-Image | Wiley’s Wisdom
  56. Wondering Wednesday | Tommia’s Tablet
  57. Daily Prompt: INTJ | Basically Beyond Basic
  58. The Perks of Being a Wallflower | – ellikitty –
  59. Daily Prompt: INTJ | The Blogging Path

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt, Evangelism, Faith, Family, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt:INTJ

  1. TammyeHoney says:

    Great article. Thank you for the ping back

    • Joe Owens says:

      I did not respond to it right away yesterday, but re-read it today and got an idea worth adding. Your welcome for the pingback.

      • TammyeHoney says:

        There are times when I have to wait and really think about it before I respond. I probably should have waited for this on since I still can’t comprehend the INTJ although I do the rest of the prompt … no coffee yet today lol…

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!