Places – Daily Post – 3/16/15

The Daily Post for 3/16/15 asks:  Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

This post is particularly timely as only five hours previous I finally exited a chartered bus along with 100 or so harried band students from my daughter’s high school from a marvelous four day trip to America’s second largest city. They, along with students from the other three high school bands from our small (<60,000 residents) county formed a superband in Chicago to march in the St. Patrick’s Day parade on Saturday. The idea is to qualify for a chance to go to bigger parades such as the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and the The Rose Bowl Parade.

177 203

235

A little information to give you perspective, we live in the mountains of Virginia. By that I meqan there are mountains all around us. Needless to say the mountqains fell away as we entered Kentuck and were non-existent in either Indiana or Illinois. The only tall objects were some of the largest skyscrapers I had ever seen. Keep in mind I have been to Cincinnati, Dallas, Minneapolis and Cleveland.

166 185 269

I heard many of the kids say they missed the mountains by yesterday, our third day. I have to agree. I love going to the beach, to the flatlands, the forest and other locales, but favor the mountainous region I call home over all the others.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Photography, Travel, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Places – Daily Post – 3/16/15

  1. jesh stg says:

    I can believe that they missed the mountains. Now I live in the mountains, you are forever hooked, and flat is just…flat!

  2. Pingback: Of all places… | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Gran Quivira | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!