Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 1st of September – Loving and Leaving

If it is Sunday then it is time for Alastair’s Photo Fiction Prompt.  Using between 100 and 200 wrods you spin a story out of the supplied photo. While you will feel justified to use the 1000 words the photo suggests, you must be strong and deny the urge. Alastair always gives us a great photo from which the words flow so easily.

******

Peter held Denise tight as they watched the sun rise from the east. The fourteen days together seemed an instant at this point. Her flight was still scheduled for 7:43 this morning. He dreaded the drive to the airport even though it was only five miles. It was always like this when they had to part.

“Only six months until I can move here,” she whispered.

“I can’t wait,” he said.

Their embrace at the airport finally ended with the last call for her flight. She wiped tears as she reluctantly pulled away. Peter fought his emotions, but held his composure until she was out of sight.

In the car he took the call he already knew was coming. His country was ready for him to return to his job as a nameless spy. The eight month sabbatical to rest his mind and body was over. Never again would he be free to see Denise. 

 ******************

I want to point you flash fiction writers to another options. It is Flash in the Pan, where you right short fiction 50-150 words respectively to words chosen and posted each week. Of the total submitted, 250 responses will be collected and published by Redmund Productions. You can check the details at the following link: Flash in the Pan.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Alastair's photo Challenge, Blogging Challenge, photo, Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Alastair’s Photo Fiction – 1st of September – Loving and Leaving

  1. Pingback: Photo Fiction; 500 Years Later | terry1954

  2. RoSy says:

    To see someone you love for the last time & not know it & to never know what becomes of them – So sad.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!