Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence – 17 FEB 2014

There are multiple ways of interacting with silence: purposefully leaving something unsaid, breaking the silence around a topic, or, quite simply, getting tongue-tied. For this week’s challenge, we want you to take the theme of silence and explore it in your own way.

At a loss for words? Here’s a few ideas to get you going this week:

  • Breaking the silence: is there a post you’ve been chewing on in your mind for a while, but have been nervous to publish? Break your own silence by getting it out there.
  • Is there something you left unsaid, but regret? Tell us about a time when you didn’t say what was on your mind, but wish you had.
  • Write a story, but leave out someone’s voice. What changes? What type of storyline can you tell with silence acting as a character? (Hey, even Jay and Silent Bob are a pretty good example of this.)
  • Take the challenge to real life: how long can you actually stay silent? An hour, a whole day? If you’re able to take on a day of silence, or have in the past, tell us about what the experience has been like.

**************

My dad and I had a really hard time with communication. So much so that at times silence was more abundant than words of admiration or acceptance. I used to blame my dad for a lot of things, including not making me feel as if what I did was ever enough. It took me years to understand that while he did not voice it, he probably did feel proud of what I accomplished.

There is nothing like perspective to widen your view. Fourteen years of silence since my dad died also makes for a great opportunity to understand what he did not say and what it likely meant. Don’t get me wrong, my dad was a good, honest and moral man. He taught me how to live in this world and become a respectable, hard working part and for that I will be forever grateful.

Add to that my position as the father of two children and it gives you another flavor of perspective. The difference is that I am not silent about telling my children I love them am proud of them and that I believe in them. They have heard me cheering for them at ball games, dance recitals and marching band competitions. I have rarely missed any event they have at their school and hope all that translates into feelings of support from me and my wife.

Silence can be an effective tool and as my son transitions to an adult I am learning when to hold my tongue and allow him to make his own choices. Will he always avoid mistakes? No. He will fail, like we all have. But I want him to know my silence is not surrendering my role, but rather allowing him to explore his new freedoms.

More Silence posts:

  1. The Sound of Silence | Through the Peacock’s Eyes
  2. Listen to the silence | Master Of Disaster
  3. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | JGTravels
  4. Eight Things I Wish I Knew Before I Taught at a Boarding School | Kosher Adobo
  5. The Sounds of Silence* | Icescreammama
  6. underwood | yi-ching lin photography
  7. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Moments | anonim0us
  9. Moments | anonim0us
  10. Silent Agony | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  11. Silent crimes | Speaking Voiceless
  12. The Sound of Silence is a beautiful thing | Amanda Montomery
  13. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | A mom’s blog
  14. Hug Her Back | Fish Of Gold
  15. Media Blackouts Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  16. As Loud as Silence | Chimerical Chicanery
  17. Unspeakable | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  18. Aborted Words | The Backwords
  19. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | carojesu
  20. yesterday’s snow lets | y
  21. A SILENT SONG | Diary of a mind
  22. A Common Baby Myth: Babies Should Sleep in Silence.. Ssshhh! | Peek-a-boo: Baby and You!
  23. Silence « mediumblackdog
  24. Never Give Up, Never Give In: My Epiphany! | Hope and Faith
  25. Brady’s Silence (explicit) | Stories From My Mind
  26. Coyote Hill | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  27. A Silence Louder Than Words | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  28. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Tales from the Motherland
  29. When The Silence Almost Deafens You | Unload and Unwind
  30. Classy Broad
  31. The Day I Found My Voice | A Path of Living Stones
  32. When you said “Nobody loves you” | So Not Simple
  33. Finding what you didn’t know you were looking for… | Crap I Blog About
  34. WWC: The Sound of Silence | Learning the Anishinaabe Way
  35. Who Said So? | Buzzy Beez
  36. Silence challenge | knovak616
  37. The Silence Welcomes Me | StormieSteele
  38. Weekly Writing Challenge: Have you seen me? | Life of A Fallen Angel
  39. Silence | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  40. The Things We Don’t Say | A Sign Of Life
  41. Breaking The Sound Of Silence | At least we made it this far…
  42. In the silence of a word | MC’s Whispers
  43. From Silence Came Wisdom | Lifeinpawprints’s Weblog
  44. Blog challenge – The sound of silence « Defy The Narrative
  45. Could the end of ‘that time of the month’ be related to that time of the year? | Minnesota Transplant
  46. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Echoes of My Past
  47. Good Grief | Wittyburg.com
  48. silence and snow | from dreams to plans
  49. Weekly Writing Challenge: Sounds of Silence | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  50. Jumpers for goalposts… | Dreaminspice
  51. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Pop-Culture-Referenced
  52. The Silent Sisters | 22 going on 33
  53. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Bringing Out the God-Colors in the World
  54. Suicide no. 27: Vow of Silence | derekalanwilkinson
  55. Silent White | Mary J Melange
  56. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Your Original LUPUSDIVA….
  57. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | No Apologies
  58. Cable Cut-off | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  59. Silence so Loud | My Weigh To Lose
  60. Silencing the Critics’ Chorus | V Learns Something New
  61. Silence of the Blog « ph.d. in creative writing
  62. Life: The Search For Someone Who Understands You | Paint Before Death
  63. Silence | Dandilyonz-4-U
  64. Remaining Silent | Bits of Life
  65. Inexhaustible Treasure | Love in the Spaces
  66. HOW DOES SILENCE SOUND? | SERENDIPITY
  67. A moment in Paris | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  68. Weekly Writing Challenge | Fit 4 Life, LLC
  69. No More Honesty | Among the Whispers
  70. The Silent Storm | Martialing Art
  71. I’m excellent at taking criticism (see? that sounds weird, right?) | sincerelyimitated
  72. My worst nightmare is coming alive, the silence is the glue to it all | From One Crazy Life To Another
  73. This is the absolute FPiTS! | Thorough and Unkempt
  74. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | My name is Ellie and this is who I am.
  75. Ah-kya-kha-loo-i | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  76. Don’t Change That Channel-er ! | Once Upon Your Prime. . .
  77. Enjoy the Silence | Kokopelli Bee Free Blog
  78. “Oh” | Gnome Lover
  79. Breaking the Silence on Autism | Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept…
  80. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound Of Silence | imagination
  81. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | sailingthroughthefog
  82. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | alysslombardi
  83. Minnie’s Quite Silent | Minnie | A Personal Blog
  84. Silence Breaker | thenaturalprofessor
  85. I’m Hoping My Mother Ignores This One. | meg lago
  86. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence – Silent-phobia | SA:ME (사메)
  87. Favorite quotes from Alabama literature | Andrea Reads America
  88. A resounding silence. | Multifarious meanderings
  89. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence? | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  90. What I Didn’t Say | My Newingness
  91. litadoolan
  92. Shamed Silence Broken | Ever Upward
  93. THE SILENT TREATMENT | DANDELION’S DEN
  94. #1 | Justin B.
  95. society | yi-ching lin photography
  96. all of life is a | y
  97. The Long Unspoken | the intrinsickness
  98. Being Silent Nevermore: The Psychology of Raising My Voice For Those that Have Been Muted « psychologistmimi
  99. A Borrowed Identity to Fill the Silence. | W.T.F.
  100. Footfall | Tell Tale Therapy
    1. WWC: The Sound of Silence | The Crucial Kiwi
    2. The Sound of Silence | The Joy of Health Nutrition and Beauty
    3. A Silent Hunt. | The Shady Tree
    4. Silence Speaks Louder Than Words | Creative Mysteries
    5. Silence of the Cat | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
    6. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence #writing | Of Glass & Paper
    7. The sound of … | How to write a memo
    8. Behind the Facade of the Narcissist’s Silent Treatment | An Upturned Soul
    9. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence – Breaking the Barrier | humanTriumphant
    10. The Painting On The Wall | Midnight Butterfly
    11. Weekly Writing Challenge: Silent Screams | NOWHERE TO RUN
    12. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
    13. The Sound of Silence | 101 Challenges in 1001 Days
    14. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | To Breathe is to Write
    15. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
    16. Hush me again, I can’t stand it. | May van Reenen
    17. it’s haircut day | Musings of a Random Mind
    18. My Quest for the Sound of Silence | Schizo Incognito
    19. No Curse | scottishmomus
    20. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | The Wandering Poet
    21. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
    22. Weekly Writing Challenge : The sound of silence | Loin de zanzibar
    23. Silence between us | Scent of Rina
    24. The Mountain and the Apology | Keep It Real Sister
    25. Children Say It Like It Is | Not the Family Business!
    26. Excruciating Silence | Life Sans God
    27. A Vow of Silence? | living my life
    28. Silence is the greatest enabler of abuse. | My thoughts on a page.
    29. The Sound of Silence | Cafe Reading
    30. Weekly Writing Challenge – Silence | Niki’s Thoughts
    31. I Answer My Mom | angieinspired
    32. The sound of silence | Boulevard Bellerive
    33. Hear no evil | Jenna Dee
    34. The unbearable sound of silence | Outmanned
    35. The Sound of Your Daughter’s Silence | smallandbrown
    36. The Grab Bag Empire: The “Silent” Challenge | britzersleigh
    37. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Mirth and Motivation
    38. Thought Processing Centre | I’m Drew Llew, how do you do?
    39. Keeping Score is the Worst Kind of Habit | Rewriting Your Heartlines
    40. My silent battle with Harold | Dianne Gray author
    41. a one-sided conversation | memoirs of an unremarkable man
    42. Silence is Louder. | TNT
    43. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence « the barren page
    44. the silent heartbeat | lifeinthedport
    45. Salt Eater | field of thorns
    46. Clamorous Silence, What A View | Wandering Gypsy Spirit
    47. Born into Silence | Running Brook Reflections
    48. Silence: Bus Minutiae | WWC | i dont even know what im doing here
    49. TURBULENCE: Prelude | mesardonicmesarcastic
    50. Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence: Where are the Christians of Christ? | The Latest Word
    51. The Sound of Silence | The Nameless One
    52. The Sound of Silence | Living in the Moment
    53. Write, instead of think/talk.. | davidriswanto
    54. Stop and Be Still | davidriswanto
    55. My Relationship With Silence | misserinterese
    56. Silence of the Night | tuckedintoacorner
    57. Practicing Silence – The Key to Finding Inner Peace | Vida Manejo
    58. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | my random writing zone
    59. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Morrighan’s Muse
    60. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | becoming a family
    61. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence/ The cost of silence in Ukraine | veryukrainian
    62. The Sound Of Silence | farmerfarthing
    63. Silence – Another way to show your love ! | Out of reflection
    64. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
    65. Silence And It’s Lessons | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
    66. Silence And It’s Lessons | the TEMENOS JOURNAL
    67. DP Challenge Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound Of Silence | Sabethville
    68. On Silence | Chasing Yellow
    69. The Blog Farm | Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence
    70. litter | yi-ching lin photography
    71. Break the Silence | Living Dead Girl
    72. Anatomy of a Difficult Summer | I’m Supposed to be Doing Something Else Right Now
    73. Silencing My Mind | Sentiments of a Working Mom
    74. You forgot to say your new job was ‘Back Stabber’ | Blogizing
    75. The Sound of Silence | Venti Mocha Moments
    76. Coerced into Silence…..(wp weekly prompt) | Daily Observations
    77. The 31st of March 1994 – Minneapolis, Minnesota | Forgotten Correspondance
    78. BREAKING SILENCE – A Pet Peeve Comes to Light | Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner
    79. Listen to Silence | Human Nature Coaching and Development
    80. Unceasing Silence | undefined by design
    81. Grass, what are you telling me? | The Seeker
    82. The Sound of Silence: Twelve Hours Without Media | suzie81’s Blog
    83. Weekly Writing Challenge: When Dreams Die Do They Make a Noise? | The Day After
    84. There Is Wind [Weekly Writing Challenge] | Thoughts from Elysium
    85. Hurtful Silence | Me – Who am I?
    86. Scarcity of Silence | Artfully Aspiring
    87. DP Challenge Rachel Carlson – Author of ‘Silent Spring’ | Midwestern Plants
    88. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence (Tell Me If You Ever Hear A Sound) | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES
    89. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence (I hate total silence, some one should break the ice.) | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES
    90. A Post About Nothing. | Sandalwood
    91. From the Once Loud House – Evelyne Holingue
    92. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Other People’s Silences | Pop-Culture-Referenced
    93. Enjoy the Silence | Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
    94. NaNoPoMo and the Way into Life | Rose Red Stories
    95. The intimacy of silence | SomeThing Different
    96. The Sound of Silence | Starting write now
    97. Daily Post Weekly Writing Challenge | rachelcurry95
    98. THE SOUND OF SILENCE … | Reflectingpool …
    99. War’s Profound Silence | Lewis Cave
    100. Shh…It’s Krantz Cake. | The Novice Gardener
      1. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | MAGGIE’S BLOG
      2. Heightened Senses | Reality to Randomness
      3. Screaming in Silence | Reaching for the Stars
      4. Silence | Grilled Cheese (& Other Things That Make My World Go ‘Round)
      5. Tears over Gravlax | Not the Family Business!
      6. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence « Mama Bear Musings
      7. The sound of silence | sixmonthsinaweek
      8. The sound of silence: | D Lonely Stoner
      9. Sound of Silence | Musings of Shawn
      10. The sound of silence | all my likes
      11. My Brother and the Silence | jen groeber: mama art
      12. Mute | MightWar
      13. Letters from the Silence – 20th February, 2014 | Wired With Words
      14. The Sound of Screaming Silence | anniethinksabout
      15. The Last Minority | Deliberating Dave
      16. Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | medicinalmeadows
      17. In Retrospect, a Response to a Poem I Wrote as a Teen | The Positivity Project
      18. Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | Home that We Built
      19. This is Silence | abundance in the boondocks
      20. ” “ | tabularin0a
      21. The Cruel Silence. | Abstractions of Life
      22. Within the Sounds of Silence ~ Weekly Writing Challenge | DCTdesigns Creative Canvas
      23. The Sound of Silence | DragonReader

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence – 17 FEB 2014

  1. scentofrina says:

    Great story! Thanks for the pingback! Hope to have more great challeneges to write about!
    Hugs!

  2. ranu802 says:

    It’s wonderful how you explained silence. I am sure your kids will understand.

  3. cjjustice1 says:

    I agree that it is important to express one’s love to our loved ones.
    When my dad died two years ago, I was so thankful that we regularly
    had expressed our love to each other. I look forward to seeing him
    again someday! 🙂 Meanwhile, I make sure to continue sharing the
    languages of love to my mom, hubby, kids & grandkids, friends, …. etc.
    And to God, even though He already knows it! 🙂
    Good post!

  4. znjavid says:

    “But I want him to know my silence is not surrendering my role, but rather allowing him to explore his new freedoms.” Very well said!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!