Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go. . .

Daily Prompt- To Boldly Go

Daily Prompt

An impending new year gives rise to reflection and goal setting. What will your goals for 2014 be? It’s never to early to start thinking about self improvement!

Goal-setting is a favorite past time for folks at the end of one year approaches and the promise of a new one can be felt. It is interesting the way we demarcate and can “close the book” on a bad year and turn toward a better future simply by turning a calendar page. I have never been one to make resolutions, but I do think about the kind of things I can do to improve.

My number one goal is to be a better Christian and constantly work on sharing my faith and beliefs. I understand everyone I encounter will not be receptive to my words or feelings, but as a child of God I am directed in the Holy Bible to “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations…Matthew 28:19a. This means to work and serve in whatever ways are possible to try to fulfill my charge. I have tried to do just that in the non-fiction writing I put on my blog. By sharing my experiences I hope to inspire others to become more aware of their purpose and opportunities.

Another goal is to be a better husband and father. I am blessed to have the perfect partner, one who deals with my inconsistencies so well. I know there are days when just surviving the day is a feat to be celebrated far and wide. My focus easily drifts and when it does so does our relationship. I suppose it is part human frailty and the story of a busy life.

Being a good father is certainly something I can always improve. The interesting thing is that it is a constantly moving target. I am happy to say I get to experience raising both a boy and a girl, with each of their unique challenges. My children will turn 19 and 16 this year and as my son continues to transition into adult hood I still feel there is so much to teach him. The same applies to my daughter, who still thinks of me as a hero.

I want 2014 to be the year I finally am published. Whether it be my first fiction novel or one of my short stories, I am ready to move on to this phase of my writing career. I also hope to expand my reach through my blog as I continue to take part in the wonderful blog challenges and subjects that come along. I have found several great blogs during my first year on WordPress and I hope to continue that trend.

I look forward to reading other goals through this Daily Prompt, perhaps I will discover some goals I would like to include in my 2014 plan.

Other To Boldly Go. . . prompts:

  1. Contemplation | The Magic Black Book
  2. Кот в окне | Markovich Arts
  3. The Conundrum | Each Feather, A Freedom
  4. DAILY PROMPT: TO BOLDLY GO INTO THE LIGHT | SERENDIPITY
  5. How to improve perfection 😉 | મન ની વાત
  6. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | draccoonian
  7. Alphabet of Courage | alienorajt
  8. To Boldly Go…: Hitting the mark! | Khana’s Web
  9. Contemplation | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  10. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Active Army Wife
  11. I resolve, if I must, though I probably won’t stick to it, again. | thoughtsofrkh
  12. It Can Wait… | sayanything
  13. Contemplation | Insanitree
  14. ermahgerhd | Bluebooks
  15. Goals for the New Year? | The life of one woman…
  16. Contemplation – Goals for 2014 | 3 Nish on a Journey
  17. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go | Shelley Wilson
  18. FOR A DREAM TO COME TRUE | seifsalamakarem
  19. Ziggy And Buster Set A Goal (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  20. To Boldly Go… | Kansa Muse
  21. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Taking time, making time
  22. I will just walk | Historiefortelling
  23. The Burden of Truth | vic briggs
  24. 226. Going For It | Barely Right of Center
  25. Contemplation – Frogs and Turtles! | Zeebra Designs & Destinations
  26. S. Thomas Summers | Contemplation
  27. Purple splotch | Hope* the happy hugger
  28. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Awl and Scribe
  29. The year ahead of me | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  30. crookedeyebrows
  31. To Boldly Go… | The Nameless One
  32. Daily Prompt: Goals for 2014 | Finding Life
  33. hayatalishaw
  34. Listening within | Words ‘n Pics
  35. http://hayatalishah.multiply.com
  36. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  37. 2014 To-Do List | Not a Punk Rocker
  38. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go and Take the Stand | Bowl of Rice
  39. 14 Random Goals for 2014
  40. And All Old Aquaintance Be Forgot | Catching A Scent of Salt…
  41. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Under the Monkey Tree
  42. 2014, Here I Come! | On Thick Ice – The Spurious Imaginings of Reality
  43. Day by day | Life is great
  44. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go…. | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  45. To Help More… | Haiku By Ku
  46. Un-goal My Soul | Momma Roars
  47. A handful of goals for a new year | tornin2’s Blog
  48. A new year, a new perspective | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  49. Men With Machetes, Bones With Souls, Mountains With Secrets | The Life NomadikThe Life Nomadik
  50. To Boldy Go… | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  51. Contemplation | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  52. DAILY POST: CONTEMPLATION « MY WALL
  53. Thank you 2013 – Hello 2014 | Everyday Adventures
  54. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Morrighan’s Muse
  55. Wordless Wednesday: Kind of… | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  56. I’ve got my goals « A Crazy Chef
  57. Fitness is My Mistress – Lipstick and Lithium – Bipolar Blog
  58. Blogging Intentions for the Year Ahead | Janie DOH!
  59. The Contemplation of Perfection…….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  60. NaNo More and More! | Rob’s Surf Report
  61. Is there a better place | The Land Slide Photography
  62. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Basically Beyond Basic
  63. No, Thank You! | A.C. Melody
  64. Three Things For Contemplation | Flowers and Breezes
  65. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go | SIM | ANTICS
  66. Contemplation: Sunset | Different Isn’t Wrong, It’s Just Different
  67. Daily Prompt: Contemplation | Indira’s Blog
  68. Gooooooooooooooooooooooooaaaaaaaaaalllllllll(s)! | Mountains or Molehills
  69. Self Improvement? Bah Humbug! | Emotional Fitness
  70. Wonder Wednesday: Who Is Welcomed At Your Table? | Light Words
  71. Boldly Enhance My Career | Randomness Expressed
  72. Dream! | A Journey Called Life …
  73. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | On My Front Porch
  74. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | ღ Blank Doodles ღ
  75. Autumn morning mood | Le Drake Noir
  76. To Boldly Go…Contemplation | My Conscious Self
  77. Once Upon a Dream | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  78. NaBloPoMo: Future Is Coming | The Joyful Soul
  79. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Poetry
  80. Daily Prompt: Contemplate | Steve Says….
  81. Contemplating Insanity | Words from the heart
  82. Daily Prompt: What the future holds… | An almanac for concerned citizens and boysenberry jam fans
  83. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | James’s Journal
  84. 15 Things I Plan To Do : 2014 Bucket List | Leanne Peggie Orr
  85. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | The Alan Times
  86. 2014 – The survival guide | JED’s Playhouse
  87. Contemplation … | Eyes to Heart
  88. Boldly Follow Me | Learn of Me
  89. Looking towards a sober 2014 | mentalrollercoaster
  90. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | lifebeinggirly
  91. “To Boldly Go…” | Relax
  92. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | adorablyobnoxious
  93. Daily Prompt: Contemplation | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  94. Daily post: Aspiring to…well, something. Maybe… | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  95. Don’t close the door on 2013 just yet! | sheryl bee
  96. Contemplation | Destino
  97. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Life In The Passenger Seat
  98. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | 18 million pixels
  99. New year goals for 2014 | Processing the life
  100. Daily Prompt – Contemplation | Something to Ponder About
  101. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go…3 Quotes | sukies original
  102. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go…, Or: I DON’T Have A Dream | polymathically
  103. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | The Blogging Path
  104. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… (and because I’ve been meaning to write this for a while) | sophie vibes
  105. Stores Sores | In Harmony
  106. Daily Prompt: Contemplation | the bippity boppity beautiful blog
  107. To Boldly Go… | Work.in.Progress
  108. I won’t do it again | littlegirlstory
  109. Mexican makeover time, utterly fabulous. | Veni, vici, vidi
  110. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Cee’s Photography
  111. Daily Prompt : To Boldly Go…. | Retirement and beyond
  112. In the water | tjbarkerseattle
  113. Going, going … | LynnSlyWrites
  114. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  115. To Boldly Go… | Cats and Chocolate
  116. Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go… | The corner of my imagination
  117. PROMPT: Goals for 2014 | AvaLlea’s Blog

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Daily Prompt: To Boldly Go. . .

  1. Thank you for the pingback, greatly appreciated!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!