Flash in the Pan – Return

Flash in the Pan is another opportunity for you to enjoy Flash Fiction. I was happy to find it, but I am sure there are others who do not know. While flash can mean a lot of things, for this specific challenge it is limited to 50 words or less.  The particular word I chose for this post is Return. If you go to the Flash in the Pan page with all the words for this quarter you will see it fits within a specific theme.

By selecting the words in the quarter’s list you can know your word limit. The exciting thing is that these stories are collected for publication each quarter. But, only 250 flashes entered will make the publication, so do not hesitate. The deadline for this quarter’s edition is 30th of September.

**********************************

“Okay miss, I think we have everything.”

“What do I do if he should return?” she asked.

“Call 911.”

After the officers drove away, Michelle walked to her bedroom and opened the closet. From a shelf she retrieved a metal box. From inside she retrieved her father’s old .45 pistol. 

 

 **********************************

The word limit for Return is only 75 words. Check out http://mommasmoneymatters.com/flash-fiction/ for the rules and to join the fun.

There is another flash fiction for you to try. It is known as Five Sentence Fiction. Lillie McFerrin is the originator of this challenge and each week she floats a new single word prompt for those who take part to use in creating their entries. You can find this weeks challenge here.

 

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Flash in the Pan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Flash in the Pan – Return

  1. Red says:

    45s have a faster response time… IJS

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!