Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sign Says

This week the Weekly Photo Challenge topic is The Sign Says. I have four signs I recently took pictures of that I will share with you this week. I hope you find them as interesting as I did.
 
The sign of my local farmer's market.

The sign of my local farmer’s market.

One of my most favorite hobbies is growing vegetable and flower plants. Eleven years ago, due to job cuts, I was idled from a distribution job and decided to try my hand at greenhouse ownership. As a function of that decision I got involved with the local farmer’s market. When i began way back in 2002 they had a temporary location in a parking lot. There was no permanent structure to provide protection from the elements. Thankfully my stock benefitted from any rain and it was no inconvenience to me.

Before I closed my business to head back to a professional job testing software a permanent venue was completed that gives the protection others desired. This site is only used a couple of days a week by the vendors of the farmer’s market and the rest of the time is called into service for musical events and other like gatherings. We are blessed to have such a phenomenal asset to our community.

The sign outside the entrance

The sign outside the entrance to the Mayan archaeological site we visited during the December 2012 mission trip.

I was able to visit a Mayan archaeological site just less than a week before the supposed end of the world last December. It was profound anyway, but with the spectre of Armageddon on our mind we found even more interest in this day of exploration. Obviously the threat was false, but I got some great pictures anyway.

My blogging mind was at work during the December mission trip with plans to refer to it as a failed modern day ruins.

My blogging mind was at work during the December mission trip with plans to refer to it as a failed modern day ruins.

If you ever visit Belize you will understand the absurdity of the sign above. Most people in the country live a meager existence. I am not saying poor to the point of hardship, i just mean extravagance like you might see in the United States is totally missing. Instead they build their houses one piece at a time as they can afford them. Why am i telling you all this? Because I found it laughable when I saw this sing above heralding the Hillside Estates gated community.

I have no idea how long ago this project began. When we visited all that was there was some pretty expensive concrete roads and a whole lot of overgrown grass. Whoever planned this had visions of grandeur and probably counted their money way before they ever had it in hand. I considered it a modern ruin.

When I saw this sign at the restaurant where our team shared our last meal in Belize I had to chuckle and wonder if they named it in our honor.

When I saw this sign at the restaurant where our team shared our last meal in Belize I had to chuckle and wonder if they named it in our honor.

On our last day we hopped on the old Bluebird school bus and rumbled up to Old Belize for a lunch before we boarded the plane for the ride back home. I am glad we did, because we did not land at our home airport until after eight in the evening and I would have certainly been famished. I snapped a picture of this sign and thought it pretty much summed up the personality of our motley crew. I enjoyed getting to know all the people on our team and look forward to returning in six months with some of them to do it again.

Other Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sign Says posts:

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: The sign says | Stephen Chapman
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | Ese’ s Voice
  3. The Sign Says | Monochrome
  4. Signs | The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | This, that and the other thing
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | suzie81’s Blog
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says – Joy and Woe
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sign Says (Papan Tanda Berkata) | bambangpriantono
  9. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | Dim Lamp/קנה רצוץ לא ישבור
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge; The Sign says | So where’s the snow?
  11. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | Flickr Comments
  12. Risk of Collapse….. | Multifarious meanderings
  13. Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says | Hope* the happy hugger
  14. Photoworld 31-5-13 | ~~~ nur ein “Klick” ~~~ ein Kompendium
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: Signs to Make You Smile! | Slam on the Brakes, Pull Over, Take the Picture
 
 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Photo Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sign Says

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves | Beijing Daily Photo 2

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves | Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves | Here & Abroad

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!