Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

I am living happily ever after. Twenty plus years with the woman who promised to always be there is just one of the components of my great life. I also have the love of two great kids, a boy and a girl who make my life so full. It is a smaller family than some, but certainly enough to fill my home with so much love I could not help but be happy.

Daily Prompt

I am also blessed to be part of a great church. On an average Sunday we will have around one hundred or so in attendance, but out of that number I know almost all by their first name. During my recent illness there is always someone asking about my progress, which again is a component of love that drives everyone’s happiness.

The job I have is the best in my life. I get to work with computers all day long, which is what I wanted from the beginning of my college experience. The amount of interaction I have with other computer people keeps me growing and relevant. The job also allows me the freedom to work remotely which is a convenience I never had in my other jobs.

Another big component of the happiness quotient I enjoy right now is the ability to express myself through my writing. I have tried this on several websites, including Helium, Hubpages and now here on WordPress. I find the most interaction here and enjoy so much reading others work and commenting on their posts.

Is there other things that could add to my happiness? Of course. I hope eventually to welcome a son-in-law and daughter-in-law to our family. Eventually I hope to have grand children to spoil. Of course, every writer eventually wants to be published. But those things are rewards yet to come and to hinge my happiness on them would be folly.

My happily ever after is in progress today. I hope yours is as well. If it is not then perhaps you can reexamine the things you see as making you unhappy and find more happiness in the other great things going in your life.

Other Daily Prompt – Happily Ever After posts


    1. Where’s your ambition? | Right Down My Alley
    2. Ilya Fostiy. Prophetic Dream | Philosophy & Photography
    3. Yes I am… Maybe. «Natalie Elizabeth Beech Natalie Elizabeth Beech
    4. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Loading…
    5. Daily Post: Happily Ever After | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
    6. On Happy Endings | Never Stationary
    7. The cake is a lie | The Nameless One
    8. Ones upon a time. | ayimas
    9. Right now… | Hope* the happy hugger
    10. Fairytales | Spunky Wayfarer
    11. Fairy Tales | Spunky Wayfarer
    12. Daily Promp: Happily Ever After | LooknWalk
    13. And they all lived happily ever after… | AnxiousElephant
    14. Happily Ever After | Misifusa’s Blog
    15. Happily Ever After? | Stuphblog
    16. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Joe’s Musings
    17. Happily Ever After | das Nicht-zuhause-sein
    18. Letting Go of Stuff | The Daily Dilly Dally
    19. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Completely Disappear
    20. To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat
    21. When It Rains It Pours and Pours and Pours | In Harmony
    22. 27th Jan – Happy ever after | Vladography
    23. Daily Prompt: One Day I’ll Live “Happily Ever After” | Creative Mysteries
    24. Happily Ever After | Drama Queen Under the Sun
    25. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After « Mama Bear Musings
    26. perspective | thematticuskingdom
    27. Daily Prompt~ Happily Ever After | The Cheeky Diva
    28. Let’s talk about happiness … | Playing for Time
    29. DP Challenge: Addendum | The Daily Dilly Dally
    30. Fairy Tails, Yes I Meant “Tails” | Lorna’s Voice
    31. I’m already in my happily ever after | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
    32. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After 26th February 2013 | ittikorn1994
    33. Man Needs to Suffer | Liquid Matthew’s Development Blog
    34. Get Out of Happily Never After | Chasing The Bubble
    35. Did you say “Happiness”? | بيسان
    36. Happily Ever After? | Adventures of an Aussie Girl in London
    37. Daily Prompt: It’s Take Time To Heal « TheDeafia
    38. On the Next episode of Mythbusters…Happily Ever After. | Happy Monkey Land and Other Musings on Life
    39. Daily Prompt – Happily Ever After | Talk About Cheesecake
    40. Welfare State (2) | sat n’ all that
    41. Daily Prompt: Happy Happy, Joy Joy | One Starving Activist
    42. Happily (N)Ever After…. | So You Think You Can Think
    43. Happy Endings | This Thread Sucks
    44. Happily Ever After? | The Cutter Rambles
    45. Daily Prompt: Happily ever after | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
    46. Mr. Gore Presents: The Daily Prompt – Happily Ever After | Chicago Gore
    47. HOW DARE WE CALL OURSELVES HAPPY? | The Allies of Reason
    48. Happy Wrinkles, not Frowny Wrinkles « Wander One Day
    49. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | cognitive reflection
    50. Fears of a Travel Addict: Beyond the Fairytale | Travel Making Kai 🙂
    51. Happily Ever After | Now Writing Every Day
    52. Rags to Paper Bags | theloneshewolf
    53. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After Overcoming | Lines by Linda
    54. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
    55. Happily Ever After? | Lit and Scribbles with Jae

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Daily Prompt, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 21 – “Wicked Business” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After Without Migraines | My Blog

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!