Share Your World – May 8, 2017

Want to learn more about me? This Share Your World stuff is like peeling the onion. I promise I will try not to cause you to cry.

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot?

The majority of the time I wear shoes. I have a dog that goes outside often with me when I walk, so shoes are necessary. I do love to walk on the cool grass during summer however, so I am not always with my feet completely covered.

What was your favorite food when you were a child?

I ate enough peanut butter and jelly to ensure the manufacturing plants of Peter Pan peanut butter and Smucker’s jelly could forecast their future for decades. I will still eat it occasionally, but usually I am going for something else with longer staying power in my stomach.

Are you a listener or talker?

If you ask my wife she will say I am definitely a listener. I can talk, and do, but there are many times I would rather just listen to what is being said. I like to make sure I totally understand what is being said rather than speak out of turn and get it wrong.  Some good advice I heard is that we have tow ears and one mouth for a reason. Also, one of the Seven Habits of Highly Successful People says ‘Seek First to Understand, and Then to be Understood’. I am not perfect at this instruction, but try to make it a good, reliable habit.

Favorite thing to (pick one):  Photograph?  Write? Or Cook?

I like to photograph nature. Well, I like to photograph anything, but nature gives a free and unique show every day and sometimes many times each day. Sharing the photographs in challenges on WordPress gives me the opportunity to connect with others who also love to take pictures.

What is the easiest way for your to learn something new?  By reading, by seeing and doing, in a classroom?

I just completed a re-work of our back deck and I have to say I learned so much by just doing. There is innumerable how-to videos, books and magazine articles, but they all cover the best situations when everything works out just right. No matter how well I plan there is always situations where I have to be creative to overcome the obstacle.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

IMG_6984

I was grateful to watch my son graduate from college. It was a very moving experience for me. I suppose I was more invested than some because I felt like my son needed the extra help in some ways. But embracing him moments after the ceremony ended I found myself overcome with the emotion of it all.

This week I am looking forward to resting some. We have pushed hard for the last few weeks trying to get everything ready for the graduation/birthday party we had this past Sunday. Yesterday we moved my son and his girlfriend home from school. Now I can turn to my gardening that has been on hold and enjoy some time in the great outdoors that isn’t tied to the celebration.

syw

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Cee's Share Your World Weekly Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Share Your World – May 8, 2017

  1. 1) socks 2) chicken nuggets n fries 3) Both, but def more a talker lol
    4) photography by far 5) by watching and learning I’m a visual person
    6) watching my younger sister graduate college 😢 and looking forward to helping a friend!!!

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Nature photography is the best. It is constantly changing and never the same. All you need is the sun to shine or shade to appear to change the entire mood of a great setting. 😀

    • Joe Owens says:

      Yes. I am one of those who sends out Skywatch Friday photos that usually have a sunset or sunrise theme. We are planning an Alaskan cruise and I hope to fill my coffers with unique photos from there.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

