Dogs of My Life – Angel

AUTHOR’S NOTE: This series is in honor of the latest addition to my canine history, Sydney, a Shetland Sheepdog or Sheltie pup that  joined our family on October 17th, 2015. As I approached this date I thought it would be neat for me and hopefully you to see and read about all the dogs in my life that proceeded Sydney.

After losing a dog the way we did with Callie, so near to delivering a litter of beautiful lab pups I swore and declare it would be a while before we had another. Little did I know another force was at work beyond my knowledge. When Callie had her pups we kept them confined out of the heat and elements in a carport. We were in the process of building in the carport when my wife came home from work on a Saturday to find a young black lab mix abandoned by the road.

My immediate reaction was a firm no. I am a dad, so if you are one you know how the story goes. Dad says no, mom wavers, kids win. My kids like dogs more no than they did at the time this dog came along, but they felt it was a sign from God. We are solid in our family about our faith and they knew how much I needed a dog, so they felt this was our Angel.

We estimated Angel was about six or seven months when she arrived at Alpine Acres, the spread where she lived for about six or seven years. I am not sure what caused her death, but it happened the same week my dad’s younger brother died and the two events struck me so hard I tail-spinned for the rest of the year.

Only the thought of adding a new dog later that year helped to suave the wounds. Thus you now are up to date on the history before my current fur baby Sydney.

To read the other posts in this series you can click on the names here: Snoopy, Puff, Master , Sparky, Jack, Louie and Callie.

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in dog, Dogs, Pets, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dogs of My Life – Angel

  1. I’ve said no a few times… I have two dogs (laugh)

  2. I had an uncle who always said that when he died he wanted to come back as a dog and live at my Aunt (his cousin) and Uncle’s house. Less than a month after he died a Sheltie came out of the woods behind their house and they took her in. She was a wonderful dog for many years and guarded our young son whenever he visited them.

    Is it odd, or is it God? Who are we to say?
    Ω

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

