Fitbit 2017 – Is 5 million steps a possibility?

Welcome back any who dared take part in the craziness known as 1 Million Steps to 2017. Over 92 days from October 1 to December 31 of 2016 I set my sights on “hanging a big number” to celebrate a year of a new health habit. Shortly after strapping on a Fitbit Charge HR that I received at a work party on January 31st I began to reap the benefits of a healthier approach to my life.

Some background here, I have two factors in my life that can potentially spell trouble. First of all I have a desk job. I sit for the majority of the day Monday through Friday. The favorite saying about this is that “sitting is the new smoking”. Come Saturday I am like a caged tiger and I usually rip free from the bounds of my home to wear myself out all weekend. As proof I offer this screenshot taken on Sunday of last weekend to document the insanity that I perpetrated on Saturday.

fitibit

The other item is something called Factor Five Lyden, I think that is right, which is a blood clotting disorder. I found that I carry one gene of two for this three years ago when, for the second year in a rwo,  I was diagnosed with a blood clot. Well actually two Pulmonary Embolisms in my lungs. Three plus years of Xarelto later I am perking along.

But really it is the Fitbit that has made my life more healthy. That and the miniature Sheltie that receives the “punishment” from my increased walking regimen. We walk at all hours, sometimes at 5:30 in the morning and as late as midnight in the evening. She is named Sydney and is much more interested in the middle of the day than those odd hours, but never wants to be left behind.

002

I can also credit my internal desire to compete as a contributing factor to my increased level of activity. Last spring a high school friend of mine introduced me to the Fitbit Challenge. Basically 2-10 Fitbit wearers can compete for a per-determined time to see who accumulates the most steps. Fitbit put some thought into this and some software coding to allow you to encourage or “razz” each other while the program gives you little encouraging updates along the way.

So basically all of this until now is set up to say that I would like to try to accumulate 5 million steps in 2017. In all of 2016, which was really only 11 calendar months of having the Ftibit I was able to count 3,995,362 steps. That equates to 1,857 miles. Not to mention burning almost 1.3 million calories. I managed to leave a few pounds by the wayside too.

By now the math that separated the truth of 2016 from the possible truth of 2017 is the elephant in the room. Yes there was 31 days in 2016 I was without the Fitbit, but will that mean the extra 1 million steps can be realized? Only if I up my game or steps. I have not done the math on steps per day, truthfully because I am not sure I want to, but I know it will mean I have to make a solid effort to get into the low teens every day.

In the first 90 days of 2017 I accumulated 1,109,431 steps. That divides down to an average of 12,327 steps. So quick math says 275 days to add 3,891,569 steps. The average I need to stay on throughout the year is 14,151. Whoo! That is an ambitious plan! But, I got hurt a little by a bout with strep throat and back issues at the end of February and first of March that ended a 48 day streak above 10,000 per day which is Fitbit’s benchmark.

Doing so does a few things: 1) It gets me up and moving which is directly attributable to a better life 2) It means lots of projects will get the attention they need to be completed, 3) the Fitbit challenge will always have a competitor from Alpine Acres, the name of my home spread, 4) I have a year long goal to chase and 5) I may have to buy some new clothes since all this walking is making my old ones look a bit roomy.

I have my wife joining me with her new Fitbit HR, so all my exercise will not be devoted to walking the fur baby. Maybe we can enjoy the good weather as we walk our way to better health. I invite you to come back for quarterly updates.

 

 

 

 

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Dogs, Fitbit, Fitness, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

