1000th Post – Writing is contagious!

1000Today I celebrate an important milestone for me as a blogger on WordPress. For the 1,000th time I will craft a post about a subject, edit for accuracy, add some pictures and send it off into the World Wide Web to find its place among the seemingly endless pool of content. It was nearing the end of 2012 when I found WordPress and began my current blogging journey. My first post was about Frankenstorm, the horrible late season hurricane that came right about Halloween of that year. In time the storm was renamed SuperStorm Sandy.

I feel my blogging skill has increased immensely over the 998 posts since that first one. I had a picture then and a couple hundred words of text, but I am not sure anyone commented. I learned quickly that just because you craft a post, clean it up nice, put a bow tie on it and send it out it does not guarantee anyone will want to read it. The most important thing is to build relationships.

Across the 999 posts before this one I have enjoyed visits from family, friends, neighbors, fellow bloggers and some visitors from all over the world. I cannot begin to tell you all the countries WordPress logs that see their posts. Just a little less than 50,000 times someone has made the choice to check out what was written on one of my blogs.

For those who don’t know I have five subject-theme blogs I alternate between. I have the mother blog, Joe’s Musings which has more than half of all the blog posts. Before I added the 4 subject specific blogs everything could be found here. But I felt like I had something to say in the specific areas that were important pieces of personality that made me . . . well, me!

Fiction writing is my passion! I have written six novel length works over my writing career and on WordPress I have discovered a great network of fiction aficionados who offer a network of experienced, published authors to draw experience from. Right now I am participating in the 2017 A to Z Challenge, posting teasers about a new novel I will begin during the 2017 NaNoWriMo in November. All this is at the Fiction Playground.

Faith is a huge component of my life. In the three and a half decades since making the most important decision in my life I have sought to share the truth of how one can assure eternal life in all of my interactions with others. That includes my blogging existence and I now collect these posts on a blog called Living the J.O.Y. Principle. For anyone unfamiliar it is based on the Jesus first, Others second and Yourself last concept.

Flowers and gardening make up another huge fraction of my interest. This summer I will plant a garden for the twenty-fifth year. This does not account for the years I toiled with my father learning the skills I continue to hone today. Flowers have always caught my eye with their beauty so my smartphone camera gets a regular workout. I even called my flower/gardening/nature-centered blog Chasing the Blooms.

At the beginning of last year I added another hobby that I will gradually work into as I age. More than half my life ago I was exposed to something that never left my mind, but became one of those “one day” pursuits. Well, that day came on my birthday last year as I began a model railroad in my basement. Where I live is on a private road named Alpine Drive and I call our plot of land, all 3.25 acres Alpine Acres. My mom grew up in a small town in Virginia called Clinchport and I saw and fell in love with trains there. So I named my railroad and my blog the Alpine & Clinchport Railroad.

On this momentous occasion I find myself reflecting on the journey through ups and downs of interest and discovery. Many lessons have to be embraced and capitalized to make progress, which I feel I have. As I look forward I wonder what will become of my blogs as I continue to hone my craft. If you have been along for the ride I bid you a heartfelt thank you. It is the support of readers that makes a blogger want to continue to create.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 1000th Post – Writing is contagious!

  1. Congratulations, Joe! Big milestone. Glad I found you here, and I look forward to the next thousand blogs. 😉

  2. tedstrutz says:

    Congratulations, Joe!!!

  3. Kira Elise says:

    Wow! 1,000! Congratulations.

  4. Congratulations! That is quite an accomplishment!

    • Joe Owens says:

      Thank you. When you put your head down and let the words escape your brain it comes faster than you realize. I just want to make sure I am not piling up haphazard work. Thanks for taking the time to send the kind words.

  5. Iain Kelly says:

    Congratulations, quite a milestone!

    • Joe Owens says:

      Iain I counted up earlier in the year so I had a sense it was coming. I cannot thank all the commenters like you enough for making the journey so enjoyable. I appreciate your time so much.

  6. Congratulations on your milestone, Joe. You are absolutely right about the concept of forming relationships being the key to successful blogging. I have learned so much from others over the years of my blogging and have been able to pass along a tidbit now and again. Enjoy your day, today.
    Ω

    • Joe Owens says:

      Thanks Allan. I enjoy interacting with people with such different perspectives due to their locale, life experiences or way of taking in the world. It makes one realize your narrow view is not the way the whole world sees life.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

