Questions I Think My Dog Would Ask – Chapter 1

QITMDWA

It has been a distinct pleasure to enjoy the company of a canine in my life for greater than half my years and trust me those years have begun to pile up! Over those years I have had a few different breeds and a variety in size, temperament and lifespan of my “man’s best friends”. None of my dogs were mean, which I guess could be an endorsement of the treatment they receive. How anyone could purposefully be mean to a dog is beyond me. I really cannot stand the ASPCA or dog shelter commercials where they show a cowering canine. I understand the abuse problem is real, but it just bothers me to see it so real.

With my current dog, Sydney, a miniature Shetland Sheepdog, I find myself more reflective about what she might think about her world. While deep in this reflective train of thought I decided there might be a funny recurring theme I could share with you on this blog. So that is how Questions I Think My Dog Would Ask was born.

Sydney is an inside dog for a few reasons. 1) She is the smallest dog we have ever had 2) We selected her breed due to the likelihood she will live longer than the Labradors we have favored recently 3) She makes a great companion for when I work at home and 4) She is leash trained to avoid the car problems we had with Jack and Louie.

Since Sydney is inside, save the time we take our walks, I get to see a lot of her personality. Let me tell you she has tons of it. Looking at her when she decides to give me some of that personality I can just imagine some of the things on her mind and that is what will constitute this blog series.

Sydney

Sydney.

 

 

So the first QITMDWA is this, in Sydney’s words:

Why does dad always have to stop and put paw covers on? You know when I get up in the morning I am ready do go take care of business and here dad is plopping himself down on the couch to put his paw covers on. But you know he always puts them on his back feet, but sometimes he doesn’t on his front. Is it just his idea of fun or is there a reason? I just wonder why he doesn’t want to feel the snow, mud, dirt and grass between his toes. I guess he is too old for that fun. Oh well, I will just have to enjoy it for him. Thanks for reading my first question. I hope you will come back for more.

Thanks Sydney. I knew that question was eating at you because you always give me the impatient look or slight growl when I take too long.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in dog, Dogs, Pets, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Questions I Think My Dog Would Ask – Chapter 1

  1. A good question from Sydney the siblant shetland sheepdog.
    Ω

  2. (LAUGH) Make sure you take the time to answer her questions.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

