My List of Regular Blog Challenges – March 2017

A couple of years ago I put together a post about the regular blog challenges I enjoyed participating in with several friends I have made on WordPress. But at that time I only had the Mother Blog, Joe’s Musings. Since that time I have added a flower/nature blog, Chasing the Blooms, a fiction oriented one, the Fiction Playground, a faith-based one Living the J.O.Y. Principle and the newest relating to my model railroad hobby Alpine & Clinchport Railroad.

Also I have found some new challenges while some mentioned in the previous post have fallen by the way side. The first challenges I will tell you about are the fiction ones. All of these post new challenges on the same day each week.

Friday Fictioneers is the one I have been with the longest. It is hosted by Rochelle-Wisoff Fields and although the name says Friday Fictioneers it actually begins early on Wednesday morning. Rochelle posts a photo and instructions to limit your work to 100 words or less. This is a very supportive community. On my latest post I have received 76 views and 53 comments.

Sunday Photo Fiction is hosted by a friend of mine who is international, at least to me. Allistair Forbes is in Great Britain and posts his photo prompt on Sunday morning. This group shares some of the same regulars as Friday Fictioneers, but all of us have a little bit easier time with the 200 word guideline.

Carrot Ranch Flash Fiction is hosted by Charli Mills and posts on Thursday. The limit here is the tightest at 99 words. Charli has a group of writers known as the Congress of Rough Writers that usually contribute to her post each week.

Two of the newest I frequent are the Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers and Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner. FFfAW is hosted by Priceless Joy and posts on Tuesday. You get between 75-175 words. I am ALWAYS on the upper end of that scale.

Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner is hosted by Roger Shipp of A Writer’s Community, also offers a photo prompt and is live on Wednesday. 200 words or less and a Linky List highlight the guidelines here.

I also partake in three non-fiction weekly photo-themed challenges. The biggest is the Weekly Photo Challenge hosted by WordPress. It changed recently from Friday at noon to Wednesday at noon. The Daily Post folks who run this suggest a linkback to make sure your post is seen by any who frequent the main post.

Also there is Floral Friday Foto, where you can share pictures along the theme of flowers. This is a Friday post with another Linky List.

Lastly on the weekly horizon is Skywatch Friday in which regulars share photos of the sky from around the world. Since I adore sky photos anyhow I was thrilled to stumble on this one.

The very last challenge I will share is one that comes in April of each year. Arlee Byrd, who blogs at Tossing It Out began something that is now utter madness in some ways. I am not being derisive toward his creation and I think you will see why in just a moment. In the moth of April during the A to Z Blogging Challenge upwards of 2000 bloggers seek to write 26 posts in 30 days along an A to Z alphabet theme. You think this is not bordering on utter madness? Then you haven’t tried it. But it is so0 much fun in madness that you will find it impossible to resist.

I hope to see some new faces at many if not all of these offerings. If you know of others please share in the comments.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in 2017 A to Z Blogging Challenge, A to Z blogging challenge, Blogging Challenge, Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner, Friday Fictioneers, Photo Challenge, Skywatch Friday, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

