HAPPY BIRTHDAY LIBBY – 3/20/2017

joelibpb2In every life we seek someone to make it fuller, richer, something so special we will live every day with the knowledge that better is always yet to come. In three days I will celebrate the 26th anniversary of knowing someone like this. I met my wife three days past her 2oth birthday. If I had been as full of myself then as I am now I might have said I was the best birthday present she would ever get. But I might have also either received a full force punch or a respectful but heartfelt “Don’t ever call me again!”

2011-libby

 

Luckily I was a bit more reserved in 1991 and allowed nature to take its course. The prayers of thanks I give since that day have never stopped and won’t anytime soon. Thanks to Minnie Bryan I connected with someone who not only fulfills my expectations of a best friend and partner to live this life, but my wife adds so much to everything we do.

As we celebrate another birthday I want to take this opportunity to say I am blessed beyond words. It is so great when your spouse is your best friend. Someone you can share everything with good or bad. It is said a good friend halves your trouble and multiplies your successes. Libby does that for me. Not three weeks ago she delivered first class aid as a nurse while I struggled through my first ever bout with Strep throat. She knows how to live the “in sickness and health” piece of the wedding vows.

Birthdays are celebrations at our house and this one will be no exception. Happy birthday to my wife and I hope we can celebrate together many more times!

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Family, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HAPPY BIRTHDAY LIBBY – 3/20/2017

    • Joe Owens says:

      Yes, I am! But not just because she’s there for me when I am sick. She fills in so much of my picture of the world.

      • I feel the same about hubby. We’ve been together 36 years!

      • Joe Owens says:

        Our children attend the same university about an hour from our home, so this fall and spring are the first we have had alone in 19 years. It has been such a great thing. We have rediscovered how to date. I look forward to many more celebrations. Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to share your thoughts.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

