First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intro – The Inner Circle by Brad Meltzer

fistchap

On Tuesdays Bibliophile By the Sea hosts a weekly opportunity for anyone to share info about the book they are currently reading. In essence you provide the first chapter or two of the current book occupying your time.

Inner Circle

 

 

The book I am reading is actually the first in a series, but as it happens I read the second book first after finding it on sale on a bargain rack at a big box book seller.

Brad Meltzer is a new author to me. I have been a fan of Tom Clancy, Vince Flynn and Andrew Peterson, but the first two have passed on, so the amount of work coming that interests me has begun to be thin. I picked up The fifth Assassin, which is actually the next book in the Culper Ring Series after the Inner Circle and liked it so much I searched for the Inner Circle.

The first chapter:

He knew the room was designed to hold secrets.

Big Secrets.

The briefcase from Watergate was opened in a room like this. Same with the first reports from 9/11.

He knew that this room–sometimes called the Tank or the Vault–held presidential secrets, national secrets, and pine-box secrets, as in the kind of secrets that came with coffins.

The main character in The Culper Ring books is Beecher White, an employee at the National Archives. When Beecher’s friend Orlando mysteriously dies moments after they find a mysterious book in a secure room reserved for the President of the United States to read in private their is a fast-moving drama that will test Beecher’s skills.

 

 

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Fiction Series, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

