Conventional Wisdom is Wrong

discover1-24

For the Discover challenge this week I chose to take apart a cliché that drives me nuts: The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side. If this is conventional wisdom then you can color me unconventional. People are fickle when it comes to many things: jobs, marriages, churches, where they live, what they drive and so on. We all know plenty of folks who jump from thing to thing looking for the better experience. They have swallowed hook, line and sinker this cliché: The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side.

Is it really? Ask some of those people who have made a choice to change. Ask the person who sacrificed their marriage for another. A friend and I were talking about this a few years ago. If the decision was based on an action or habit that the other did not like what are the chances someone else will have a different opinion? People are people and not every change is going to work out in your favor.

Understand me I know there are situations when a change MUST be made. But if it is being made with the assumption that different will surely be better then it is likely to find oneself back in a similar spot. Greener grass still has to be cut. What seems greener from afar may just be getting the best sunlight but may be flawed close up.

I guess in summary what I want to say about it is this: take time to really judge your situation against what you see as the better one. With all the resources at your disposal work really hard to complete the due diligence before you take a leap you may well regret. We all have the capacity to change our current situation to make it better rather than throw the baby out with the bath water. Oh no, there is another one!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/conventional-wisdon/

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Discover Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conventional Wisdom is Wrong

  1. calmkate says:

    Well said, great wisdom!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

