The Greatest ________ In The World ? A President Comes, A President Goes

I wrote this in anticipation of the inauguration coming in three days. I hoped the Discover feature from the Daily post would tie in nicely, but I can make it work. https://dailypost.wordpress.com/discover-challenges/greatest-in-the-world/

On January 20th of 2017 something fascinating will occur. For the 46th time a peaceful transition of power will occur as Donald J. Trump assumes the office of the President of the United States from Barack Hussein Obama. When that group of government and political visionaries known as the framers of the constitution met in the late 1780s to create the seminal document that guides the way the political process works I wonder if they had great confidence what they were trying to create would stand the test of time? I would like tot hink the words I write today will still have revelance and even some power over two centuries later, but then I am not writing such a document as the United States Constitution, am I?

As a resident of the United States I can say I watched 2016 with consideravle trepidation. My beloved nation was rocked by so many separate incidmes it was difficult to feel much confidence in the direction of our nation. Let me assure you this is not a politically skewed rant blog post. I am not here to declare one office holder is better than the other. I simply have an opinion about what is happening just like everyone else in the world. Mine is no better than yours, but it is no less important either. I ask if you read and have a comment keep it civil. I believe in everyone having a right to their opinion, but I will not engage in an angry exchange in the comments.

The range of trouble inflicted upon the United States in 2016 may not have been the worst in the country’s history, but it was the worst in my recent memory. For sure the country had it much worse during the late 1700s when we were trying to declare our independence from England. Or during the early 1860s when we nearly destroyed our nation when we allowed our differences to split our nation in two. Less than fifty years later the first major war on foreign soil and another three decades later rocked our foundations two more times. No, 2016 wasn’t barely that bad, but for a civilized nation it was frightening enough.

While it certainly is not the only problem facing the United States, the gun violence of 2016 was on a scale that just made you sick. I have the utmost respect for the men and women who strive to keep the peace. My son is nearing completion of a college degree intended to help him pursue this dream. Sometimes when I see what we witnessed in 2016 I hesitate to feel this is the best choice of profession. During the election cycle both presidential candidates along with the office holder of the job voiced opinions about he right and wrong ways to deal with this issue.

There are many who believe removing firearms from people’s hands will eliminate the problem. As far as history confirms people were killed long before gunpowder was created. The problem is deeper than the tool employed to commit the act, it is more about the mindset. The thing is one solitary man sitting in an office at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue cannot do anything to change that on his own. We are foolish to invest so much passion in that belief.

When an election is completed there is usually half the country satisfied with the outcome while the other half is not. That is the nature of a democracy. Unless the party in power has been exceptionally good or bad usually after two terms there is a change of power. Many do not agree with the words of the new president. But then I hear plenty of folks who did not agree with the words of the president getting ready to vacate the office during the last eight years.

Many will argue a billionaire has no place in this office. When the framers of the constitution created the office of president they certainly did not do it with the goal of always having a career politician. George Washington was a farmer. Teddy Roosevelt and Dwight Eisenhower were soldiers. Jimmy Carter was a peanut farmer, Ronald Reagan was an actor. The list of unique experience sets goes on and on. Being president is not a job you can necessarily train for before you take the oath of office on the steps of the United States Capitol.

To circle back to the idea of all that plagued the U.S. in 2016, there was also tons and tons of political drama. It seems the presidential process gets longer each cycle. Like many Americans by March of the election year I am already worn out with it. Insert the back and forth between candidates and all the F.B.I., C.I.A. and other alphabet government agencies and you have a recipe for bad soup.

Add to that the usual up and down economic news which can be spun any number of ways and you had a long line of people believing the United States was headed nowhere very fast. Again some will state that the president will be able to change all of this when he gets into office. Have we forgotten the 535 souls in Congress who have to agree with this ideas? If you have ever tried to get your family to agree on a vacation or what to have for dinner you will agree this is not a sure thing.

I guess what troubled me most in 2016 was the reaction to the election. Perhaps I spend too much time listening to the television reports or noticing what is on Twitter, but the sheer audacity of people claiming to not support the winner of the election floored me. I have voted in nine presidential elections. Of those I have been in both groups, happy with the winner and disappointed as well. But either way I know the man elected is definitely my president. He is the man I will pray for to lead our nation as we continue to be a part of this world. Sure I will pray he does things that agree with my beliefs. But as I stated in a previous paragraph opinions are something we all have.

In 2008 a freshman senator from Illinois inspired a great number of folks with a message of hope. It resonated with so many that the election of the first African-American in the political history of the United States made news around the world. It was this same kind of energy that mobilized the large turnout of voters for Donald Trump. Pollsters across America were shocked that their numbers did not jive with the elections results. I think so many people are so fed up with the parts of the political process that they do not want to tell those asking questions what they really think.

You have to wonder if the result of this election will have any impact on the thought that one vote does not matter. For those unhappy with the results of the election it must be understood that the difference was simply a collection of those votes that do not matter in specific areas. I heard several folks opine they would not vote because there was no good choice. I dis agree. We have a choice and that in itself is something too many residents of this world cannot enjoy. We will see a peaceful switch on the 20th of January and that is something in which we do have a choice. We should support our president whether we selected him in the voting booth or not. We will be judged as Americans according to his success or failure regardless.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in America, USA, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Greatest ________ In The World ? A President Comes, A President Goes

  1. Charli Mills says:

    I appreciate your invitation for civil debate. Civility is often lacking in our highly technological age, where we hide behind anonymity. In fact, many say they voted for the current POTUS because of his lack of civility, his daring to not be politically correct. Yet I have served on many public service boards and covered civic stories, As both a newspaper reporter and board member, I learned that civility and sticking to the objective truth serve the greater good. I’m conflicted at how we are called to respect a disrespectful person holding an office we all respect. It’s sad to note that 42% of eligible US voters did not vote in the 2016 election. I do not dispute he is my president as much as he is yours. Yet I also believe it is my civic duty to make sure my elected public officials are held accountable. I also believe strongly that citizens need to be more engaged in the process — if I don’t like who is in office, I can go get signatures on a petition and run for office myself. And after the Women’s March, over 400 women did exactly that. We need to see more citizen engagement, whether it’s educated voting, running for office, serving on committees or communicating with representatives. Be involved.

  2. Your post was very eloquently written, even though I disagree with it’s content for the most part.

    You said, “The thing is one solitary man sitting in an office at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue cannot do anything to change that on his own.” You are absolutely right. One solitary man cannot change things on his own. But his cabinet can change things. He has appointed known white supremacists, anti-environmentalists, anti-LGBT, etc. to his cabinet.

    Things WILL change with Trump’s White House. And I’m terrified they will not be good things for myself or for those that I love.

  3. Jennifer says:

    “But either way I know the man elected is definitely my president.” Well said! This was the way I was raised. That even if I didn’t vote for the person whether it is Federally, Provincially or municipally they represent me.

    • Joe Owens says:

      I was so disgusted with the way people reacted, like it was the end of the world. The thing is we live our lives and usually are not regularly affected directly by what a president does. He will do good things and bad depending on each person’s perspective. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment.

  4. anne leueen says:

    Interesting post. You manage to cover lots of topics in calm and rational manner. I am not American but I hope for the best for the people of America.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

