Survival – Daily Post – 5-12-16

The one word Daily Post prompt is Survival. Immediately when I read this I thought it would tie in so nicely with an idea I have been promoting as we approach the graduation of my daughter along with millions of others from high schools and colleges all over the united State and also the world. For some it is a joyous time full of fun and unbridled excitement. For still others however, it is just a matter of making it through.

Take the young woman who wasn’t quite as careful as she could have been and is now juggling a baby as she tried to nail down her diploma. Or the boy or girl that lost a parent and had to take on a job to help manage expenses at home. While the diploma is still a goal the ground to travel on the way just got a whole lot more rugged.

Still another example is the student who just doesn’t make it through every class with ease. We are all different and some strengths serve us well in particular classes, while in others we may feel totally inept. I remember feeling many times like I was the only one who didn’t get some of the concepts.

Surviving high school or college is a monumental achievement we should celebrate it as such! My son graduated three years ago and I celebrated with a blog highlighting his achievements called While a Tree Grows in Brooklyn, A Boy Graduates in Virgina. In seven days my daughter will put the finishing touches on her high school experience, so I will have to get busy on a similar tribute to her experience. She is the more social, so I expect her photos in the tribute to be filled with many of her friends.

What did you highlight in your survival post?

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging, children, Faith, Family, school, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

