Blogging from A to Z (2016) – Yes or No

So the time has come to make the long term strategic plan about an opportunity to seriously increase the exposure to my blogs. By seriously i mean the potential to have up to a couple thousand bloggers visit my writing platforms. How can this be you ask? Is it one of those advertisements pushing a $19.99 plan to show you haw to increase traffic? No, but it will definitely return that.

a to Z

The opportunity I want to describe is called the 2016 Blogging from A to Z in April event. This is the fourth year of the event, started by a blogger named Arlee Byrd. Quite basically you blog for 26 of the thirty days in April (excluding Sundays) using A for day 1, B for Day 2, E for Day 5 and so on. As of today there is already 415 bloggers signed up to take part and it is still more than sixty days until the start.

So where does the visiting fit within this? As you sign up to take part you are asked to commit to visiting five blogs per day. IF, and I know it is Pie in the SKY if, all 415 bloggers followed the directions and visited your blog one day would that top put your highest single day for views? Okay, being realistic, what if 33% or 1/3 of the 415 did it. That is still 138 views coming from a source outside the normal pantheon of Word Press reader and search engines, not to mention your followers.

So there are some really good reasons to try this. As with all things there is some consideration of whether you can commit to doing the required post each day with the letter specified. In my experience the best way to approach this is by having a theme. Some people choose their favorite movie characters, or recipes, or books or whatever interest them. Last year I was doing four blogs and one of my themes was my favorite movie or TV quotes. I also had one with my favorite flowers we plant at our home each summer.

My experience last year was disappointing, but not for any reason that the A to Z crew should have shame. They are quite supportive and the Host, Arlee Byrd and legion of co-hosts reach out regularly to encourage you. My disappointment mixed with some loss of a family member and pet to derail my grand plan. But I have decided to re-purpose the blogs I had published the first third of the month for 2016 and finish this year instead.

So yes, I will be throwing my hat into this ring. I want to see it all the way through this time around and try to visit 300 new blogs this year, which would be 10 each day of April. Not only will I click on the link to the blog, but I intend to read their post and make more than a canned comment.

comment

I Invite you to come back to read about the preparations and also to find out which blogs I will use during the A to Z.

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in A to Z blogging challenge, Blogging, Blogging Challenge, Daily Prompt, Twitter, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blogging from A to Z (2016) – Yes or No

  1. I’ll be knee deep in the April Poem a Day Challenge, so I’ll unfortunately be out of AtoZ this year. I’ll be sure to check out your posts, though! 🙂

  2. I’ll be right along with you Joe. My third year. I am looking forward to what you write. I had my theme for this year picked in the middle of last years but haven’t gotten a jump on any of the posts. I have written my Great and Powerful Blogfest post so I guess that’s a start. Happy A to Z ing

  3. Craig Skeens says:

    Any excuse for you to write more is a great thing.

  4. tedstrutz says:

    Oh, I would love to do this. If only I had the time. Maybe I can make time. Good idea about the Theme. What about Friday Fictioneers writers? For ‘J’ I could do Joe Owens, or Jennifer Pendergast, or Louise Jensen. Then again… I could do my favorite Painters… or favorite Photographs I have taken. Endless possibilities, thanks for the suggestion, Joe.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

