The Dogs of My Life – Puff

You know there are some experiences in life that are so stark you can not forget the details, but for others there is only whispers of remembrance. That is, unfortunately, the situation with the second dog in my life, a boy dog named Puff. Puff followed Snoopy, my first pet, but for the life of me I just don’t remember a whole lot of unique details about him.

I do remember the family from my dad’s hometown in Glade Spring, Virginia that had the litter containing Puff. I also remember Puff looked a lot like Snoopy. I cannot remember him being a “critter gitter” like Snoopy however.

My personal ambition is to provide pictures of each “Dog of My Life”. If you knew me you would think well that wouldn’t be to hard because if there is anything I do it is take a lot of pictures. I mean why not? One of these days when my memory begins to fade I hope I can rummage through my picture library and aid my recall. But for poor puff I was really beginning to think I was going to come up empty.

Puff, Master and me around 1975.

Puff, Master and me around 1975.

As with Snoopy, the first DOML, I could only find one photo and poor Puff had to share time in this one with his successor, a full Collie we named Master. I know, the funny will come when Master gets his own write-up about how ironic that name was.

Puff was the only dog to be displaced by another in my dog history. You know as I try to remember the specifics of the situation I cannot identify any particular reason that we relocated Puff. I think it was just the fact that my parents felt two dogs were too much for us. He got along well with our Collie, so other than having to pets to feed and care for I just don’t know why he had to go away.

As it turned out Puff moved along to the grandparents of my cousins on my mother’s side. So when I traveled the ninety minutes to where my grandmother lived in Clinchport, Vriginia, which I did often, I would go to my cousin’s house and see Puff next door at their grandparents house. Puff never seemed to hold a grudge. I think he enjoyed being the top dog at his new place.

Well, I suppose you can guess the subject of the next DOML post, it will be the full blood Collie named Master. I hope you will follow on to that post. If you are new to this series and want to catch up you can read the first post about Snoopy.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in dog, Dogs, Pets, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Dogs of My Life – Puff

  1. Pingback: Dogs of My Life – Angel | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: Dogs of My Life – Callie | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: Dogs of My Life – Louie | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: Dogs of My Life – Jack | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: Dogs of My Life – Sparky | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: Dogs of My Life – Master | Joe's Musings

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

