The Bicentennial Wagon Train

I was eleven in 1976 when the United States celebrated the two century mark as an independent nation. There were innumerable celebrations to mark this important milestone, including among others celebrations, commemorations and parades. I was old enough to remember many of these, but one in particular made its way through my home town.

Early in 1975 a trek began from within the Midwest of the U.S.A. that had a final destination of Valley Forge Pennsylvania. Okay, you say, so there was a trek, so what. What if I told you that a wagon train consisting of wagons from all fifty states combined to make the journey.

Wagon2 wagon1

My hometown is in the Southwestern end of the state of Virginia, a town called Abingdon.  The many pictures I posted with this article show the parade through my town.

Wagon3 Wagon4

I can remember thinking how wonderful it would have been to be a part of this.

Wagon5 Wagon6

There was even a lot of women along with the wagon train that dressed in period clothes.

Wagon7 wagon8

I was rooting through some old photographs from my mother’s house when I came across these and decided to do a post about it.

wagon9 wagon10

Even the kids of the wagon train members took part in the adventure. They got to deliver some pretty interesting essays to there teachers when they returned to school I am sure.

Wagon 11

I was searching around for information about the wagon train and found this Bicentennial Wagon Train Pilgrimage Official Souvenir Program for sale on Amazon.

wtprogram

http://www.amazon.com/Bicentennial-Pilgrimage-Pennsylvania-1975-1976-Official/dp/B000G8UAVA

I can remember thinking at the time how cool it would be to live long enough to enjoy the Tri-Centennial celebration, which would occur in 2076. Of course to do that I would have to live to be 111. While it is possible for a human to live to that age, I am not giving myself good odds to be among the celebrants. Hopefully my son and daughter will be able to do it in my stead.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in 1776-1976, 1976, American independence, Bicentennail, Bicentennial Wagon Train, Commemorative Events in 1976, Covered Wagon, Wagon Train and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

