BAN THE WORD – LIKE!!!!

This is my response for the No, Thank You prompt for the Daily Post of August 26, 2015.

Okay, a disclaimer to begin. I am not against this four letter word in its original context. I agree with the concept of telling someone that I like the way they do something or the way they look. I even can stomach the implication that it “looks” like rain. But this poor four letter word is one of the most abused in our hallowed dictionary.

So, who are the devious culprits at work here? One has the surname of Zuckerburg. The other is not a solitary who, but rather legions of young ones from age 12 to 22. Yes I am talking about the teen population that cannot complete a sentence without invoking this four letter word any number of times.

So, Mr. Z first. On the surface, liking someone’s offering on Facebook is a great idea. I mean everyone likes a little encouragement or validation, I get that. But when someone posts an announcement about a death or some other tragedy and I see this avalanche of likes it rubs me wrong. I mean, come on Facebook programmers, are you telling us you cannot add a toggle where the Like button is to allow for a more pertinent response?

I guess I can get past the Facebook misuse of the word, since after this many years there is not a groundswell behind me to have Facebook change its advance. But this teenage revolution in the wrong direction may be our bigger concern. The art of conversation is something we develop as children and through the years we should try to develop into a strength. Every inter action we have with others allows us to sharpen this life tool. The dulling of this by using the word like as a lazy modifier is horrifying to me.

I used to drive a school bus for a short period during one of my different seasons of my life. One morning I challenge this particular teenaged girl to say four sentences without using the word like. She could not do it. For thirty minutes she struggled to meet my challenge. During the school day this remained on her mind and later that afternoon she came back on the bus and managed four ragged, short sentences. While I have no misconception I made an impact in her life, perhaps for a few moments she saw my point.

Again, I am not against the concept of telling someone what I approve of or when something strikes me positive. I just want this particular four letter word to get a bit more respect.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to BAN THE WORD – LIKE!!!!

  1. I’m a high school teacher and believe me I would love nothing more than for the word “like” to take a backseat. Sometimes a student will use it 20 times in a two minute conversation. It’s ridiculous!

    • Joe Owens says:

      I am a student of life and I can see the unmistakable shift in the quality of conversation this imperils. Combine this with the invasion of texting and the youth of today just have little skills in communicating.

  2. I like your position on this, Joe πŸ™‚ Seriously, ‘like’ buttons have made us lazy. It is easy to like a comment instead of actually comment on a comment.

    • Joe Owens says:

      I really think it wouldn’t be that hard to “upgrade” it to give a range of choices. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I t makes me know I am not just carrying on a monologue.

  3. jwdwrites says:

    Ha ha, I also had a rant against the word like! πŸ™‚

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

