BLOGGING 201: GOALS FOR JOE’S MUSINGS FRANCHISE

Copyright - Tim Halloran

Today’s assignment: consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals you want to achieve.

During this Blogging 201 :Branding and Growth concentration I hope to collect knowledge from other bloggers about how they get and keep long term visitors. Over three years I have drawn only about 34,000 visitors and I want to determine how to improve that. My goals?

1. Deliver solid, interesting content. Content draws eyeballs and if we are writing it is with the intent that someone will read, otherwise we are just cluttering cyberspace. Trust me I have seen quite a bit of it and the clutter is everywhere. I want to rise above the clutter to write something that will shine.

2. Develop my brand as a writer of fiction. I have three completed science fiction novels, a Young Adult fiction novel and a nearly completed mystery novel. But as far as the reading world knows I am a nobody. My goal with my blog is to develop my name recognition as a serious writer and then as my novels launch cross pro mote them through my blogs.

3. Stretch my range as a writer of complete, thrilling and desired fiction work. You know what I mean, I want o be like Grisham, Clancy, Flynn and Collins, those writers that immediately draw the reader to their latest release. Of course that requires a signature character like Mitch, Jack or Katniss. One way i will do this is to enjoy the A to Z Challenge through my Fiction Playground blog with the help of an editor who will give me a fresh fiction prompt each day of the A to Z, challenging me to create a complete story with 350 words or less.

I feel the reorganization of my blog into subject specific blogs will help with this, but I am willing to take tips from anyone willing to share.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

