See The Fourth of July in All 50 States – A Blog Hop – PLEASE JOIN

The beauty of a flad is not truly shown until enough wind comes along to fully extend it from its rigging.

Celebrate the Fourth of July with your pictures here!

So I had this great idea last year ahead of the A to Z Challenge, but then came my writing sabbatical and it went by the boards. But here I am re-energized and ready to put the work in ahead of time on it this year and I invite you to join in. What’s the idea? To enlist people from every state of the U.S.A. to pledge to share their photos of their own or local 4th of July celebrations.

I have been part of an effort like this as a participant and I think the one who initiated it was from Hawaii. I cannot remember the gist of his particular collection of folks, I guess I could spend some time running back through my comments to see, but basically it was trying to do exactly this, enlist people from every state to take part.

This is where the mention of the A to Z Challenge comes in. For those of you unaware it is a challenge each April to write posts on some theme using every letter of the alphabet. Yes, I know April has 30 days, but Sundays are off days where you can read other’s posts or get ahead on your own. By bridging this announcement at the bottom of each of my A to Z post I hope to blanket the entirety of the nation.

So just to be clear that I am cognizant of our fellow writers outside the border of the USA, you are not excluded from joining in, I just expect the Independence Day celebration of the USA would not rate anywhere else.

So if you know someone in another state that is a writer point them this way. Below you will find a Linky List.

Simple rules:

When clicking the Linky List “You are next… Click here to enter” button, you’ll first be asked for the link title (your name) or blog title. Please add a hyphen and the two-letter state abbreviation AFTER your name/blog, so I can track which state you’ll be “representing.”

(e.g. Joe Owens – VA)

On Twitter, please promote the event by tweeting this post and/or using #50Statesof Independence hashtag.

We cannot leave out the folks who live in Facebook, so pass along this info to those as well so we can be sure to cover the map.
More than one entry from each state is allowed, in case one gets busy and forgets, we will still have each state represented. To help all gauge how we are doing I will post a map of the USA below and as the states are represented I will color them in. Since I am from Virginia I can color that one in and begin the countdown.

USA

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to See The Fourth of July in All 50 States – A Blog Hop – PLEASE JOIN

  1. Joe when are you running this? During the A to Z, around the 4th, now?

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

