Trifextra-Week One Hundred Three – Misunderstanding

Monday morning at 10 AM we get another prompt from Trifecta. On aqlternating weeks we get either the regular prompt, which uses the third diefinition from the Oxford American dictionary and between 33 and 333 words. On the other week we have 33 words to spin our tale, with the Trifextra.

On now to our quick and dirty Trifextra prompt.  Plenty of times over the past two and a half years, we’ve given you the beginning of a story and asked for you to complete it.  This time, we are giving you the end, and we are asking you to start it for us.  We want 33 words in addition to and preceding the following:

That wasn’t what I meant.

– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.maqnilNf.dpuf

 ***********************

Penelope squeezed her fingers tight around Ben’s hand. She took me literally when I said I wasn’t good enough for her. Apparently she felt like he was good enough and left me to rot. That wasn’t what I meant.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Trifecta and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Trifextra-Week One Hundred Three – Misunderstanding

  1. Christine says:

    Ouch. But if she could take that meaning from his words, she was not the right one for him.

  2. Time to move on to people who can think abstractly, I say. 🙂 Thanks for linking up.

  3. troy P. says:

    “Left me to rot,” the best description I’ve heard for the feeling in a very long time Joe.

  4. Mike says:

    Always be careful what you say. Some people will always take you literally …. and that can be dangerous.

  5. Draug419 says:

    Maybe she wasn’t worth it after all. There are other fish in the sea!

  6. I can just imagine how much he regretted telling Penelope those words. Well done!

  7. Kir Piccini says:

    Ouch, my heart hurt reading this one.
    Not being good enough has always been one of my greatest fears.

    nicely written.

  8. Now that is a sad turn of events but a great take on the prompt! ♥

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

