Bring Me a Rock – 23 February – Sunday Photo Fiction

Sunday is the beginning of another weekly invitation from Alastair to open our imagination and tell the world what we see in his photo prompt. There is always several rich stories that flow from this interesting photographic offering. If you fancy a short adventure add your 200 words or less and join the fray.

*************

“I will believe it when I see it son.”

“Dad, it will happen in ten days. A man from Earth will walk on that moon,” Andrew said, pointing at the white orb high in the sky.

“How will you get it there?”

“Dad you paid hundreds of thousands of dollars for me to go to the best schools. I learned so much because of that; engineering, rocketry, physics and more. This is the pay off.”

His father turned squarely to look at the moon, something up until this moment that seemed displaced, an object for observation, but nothing more.

“Son, do you think you could do me a favor?”

“Of course dad. What is it?”

“If they have rocks or stones or something up there,” he said pointing skyward. “Do you think they could bring me one?”

“You want a moon rock?” his son said as he smiled.

“Yes.” 

 

  *************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Alastair's photo Challenge, Christmas, Weekly Photo Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bring Me a Rock – 23 February – Sunday Photo Fiction

  1. Lyn says:

    Dad might be disappointed…his son didn’t actually promise to bring him a moon rock. A very different take on the prompt, nice job 🙂

  2. Al says:

    Excellent 😀 A stick of rock from the moon

  3. I guess that’s his first step in accepting what his son says. Hopefully he can get a moon rock.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

