Weekly Writing Challenge – 5 FEB 14

The Weekly Writing Challenge is coming at us with a different perspective this week, with the choice of four possible photo prompts as a jumping off origin.

Contemplation

For the fourth week in a row I wanted to avoid everything in my life. it had been nothing worth writing home about anyway, since the moment Jessie looked at me and said she needed something new. To say I was flabbergasted seems such an understatement. I had quit my job, moved twelve hundred miles and put all my plans on hold for her.

Don’t get me wrong, she was worth it. Since the day i stumbled, literally over her under the massive oak tree on the university campus while chasing a Frisbee I was smitten. Jessica Freeman was a classic beauty, the kind that did not have to buy a cart full of cosmetics to cover the imperfections. In fact, time after time I reassured her that her natural beauty was an asset others coveted.

My theory was proven more than once when her friends came to her to aks her secrets. When she told them she had none they scoffed, but came to realize she didn’t. Hooking this beauty was the achievement of my life in my early twenties. She came with a fierce love and devotion that overwhelmed my life and made me addicted to her brand of commitment. It was this confidence in her serious connection that proplled me through the doubt of quitting my job and ripping up my roots.

I never regretted any of the changes, that is not until the moment he took both my hands in hers and through a torrent of tears announced she was leaving to seek an answer to a question in her heart. I had no choice but to hope she would realize her mistake and return, but now I see that will not happen.

My choice for a place of solitude was somewhere we never came, this high spot where I can look out into the sea. From here I can imagine what might have been, even as I come to grips with the reality of now. If only Jessie could see her mistake as clearly as it seems to me.

Other WWC Feb 5 posts:

  1. 7 things about dealing with death | Never Stationary
  2. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | The Iridescent Bubble
  3. Weekly Writing Challenge – 1000 words – Lady Towards….. |
  4. Emptiness. | dream07young’s blog
  5. That Evening (Emptiness) | The Girl Who Speaks (To Herself)
  6. Traditional Meditation Techniques Insult My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  7. Dancing with Fireflies
  8. A Day At The Lake | Fish Of Gold
  9. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words– SOLITARY TRAVELER | soumyav
  10. Contemplation | Wendy Karasin – Musings of a Boomer
  11. 1,000 Empty Words | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  12. Contemplation – Seeing the Big Picture | Deliberating Dave
  13. CREATIVITY: a DPchallenge entry | SustainableMamma
  14. Weekly Writing Challenge: Just Keep Swimming | Life of A Fallen Angel
  15. Stuck | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  16. 1000 Words/Weekly Writing Challenge | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  17. Peace | Abstractions of Life
  18. The crush | Master Of Disaster
  19. What’s in the darkness?? | Who Ate My Breadcrumbs?
  20. Or something | Started in Svolvaer: stories
  21. Love, Breath, Red Wine, Skin on Skin. | wordsandotherthings
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | imagination
  23. A writing challenge | EnjoyLife
  24. Crossroads | “Crone-ing”
  25. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | khozo89
  26. Contemplation | SoulQuest
  27. The End Of The Tunnel | Where is my mind?
  28. DP Challenge: Carlos Santos Cardona | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  29. 1000 Words | Pritha’s pomes
  30. A thousand words describing my time spent locked in a bathroom. | meg lago
  31. Just Float | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  32. Weekly Writing Challenge | The Joy of Health Nutrition and Beauty
  33. Relaxation | Just Kassy
  34. Creativity:: Scary but Rewardin | Kat
  35. Contemplado La Vida | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  36. Being an Introvert that is Never Alone | Moments for the journey
  37. A bit about Bobby | tracycanhazblog
  38. Make your own story. ||challenge | Olá, viesi!
  39. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words– Contemplation | Purpose
  40. Weekly Writing Challenge: Emptiness |
  41. 1000 Words/Weekly Challenge | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  42. Empty Handed : Weekly Writing Challenge: Feb 3. 2014 | forgottenmeadows
  43. 1,000 Words | Para crear un bosque
  44. Breathtaking | Paper Plane Pilots
  45. WRAPPED IN PAPER | Serendipity
  46. Of Memories and Photographs | The Savorist
  47. Save the Reef Contemplation and Challenge | everytimedayforever
  48. Just Write That He Loved Her | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  49. His Colors Were Real | Growing Pages
  50. Journey of love | A mom’s blog
  51. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | life n me!
  52. Relaxation | anonymouslyconsidered
  53. More than meets the eye | Jordan Allison
  54. Recursive Universe | Sunday Epidemic
  55. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words: Emptiness ~ SHE ~ | heysugarsugar
  56. Emptiness | Finale to an Entrance
  57. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1000 words | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  58. 1000 Words: Relaxation. | Babbleogue
  59. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | The Wandering Poet
  60. Four Things I Learned From My Dog « Transforming Mommy
  61. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1000 Words | History of a Woman
  62. Yesterday | the intrinsickness
  63. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | Of Glass & Paper
  64. no one has yet | y
  65. Swimming, Crawling, Walking, Talking | An Upturned Soul
  66. Emptiness | Creating a New Life
  67. Weekly Writing Challenge: My Boy | AdsInfluence
  68. 1,000 Words | Kilbo – Chris Kilbourn
  69. weekly Writing Challenge: Emptiness | asnappshot
  70. Halemau’u and Keonehe’ehe’e — The Finest Trail in America | Exploratorius
  71. Reminiscing : A WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge | Sammi Talk
  72. emptiness: a response to this week’s daily challenge | This Medical Life: A Journey in Healthcare
  73. “Stone walls do not a prison make, Nor iron bars a cage…” | Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept…
  74. Weekly Writing Challenge: Contemplation | Thoughtless Prattler
  75. Murder, Mutiny, and Mother’s Mercy – Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | Simply Silent
  76. It’s Not Called Fun if Sharks are Involved | The Project: Daily
  77. jjjjjj | BeEduc
  78. In a fog | scottjkaniewski
  79. Contemplation | FeedLine
  80. “I” | ShaleDust
  81. WordPress.com (2-4-2014) | ACall4Revolution.wordpress.com is ours
  82. Better Broken: Limiting Beliefs | The Unbound Self
  83. I got a monster in my bed! | Words ‘n Pics…
  84. The Curse of the Bogenfels (# 3) | Rolbos ©
  85. The Rage of a Cat | The Adventures of Cat Madigan
  86. The Inner Precipice | The Arctic Tern
  87. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words-A better life « Give me 5 minutes a day and I’ll give you a happier, more successful life!
  88. Tread or Float | Ever Upward
  89. Contemplating Moving On! Another 1000 words | The Joy of Health Nutrition and Beauty
  90. Emptiness | Abstractions of Life
  91. Creative Research in a little over 1000 words | Talia’s Writing Nook
  92. Contemplating Mavericks ~ 1000 Words | thisblogisepic
  93. The darkness awaits… | JED’s Playhouse
  94. 555, Something like a Fairy Tale | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  95. The Weight of Emptiness – Evelyne Holingue
  96. Valentines Day – in c minor | Forty, c’est Fantastique !
  97. One week with her | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
  98. Weekly Writing Challenge – 1000 words – I wish |
  99. A Different Kind of Emptiness | Constructing a Life
  100. Some Birds Were Meant To Be Caged | A-Scribe To Describe
  101. Final Goodbyes | Shawn’s Ramblings
  102. Change I can believe in | Random Musings …
  103. your absence is an | y
  104. Weekly Writing Challenge – Contemplation | DragonReader
  105. Daily Post: Weekly Writing Challenge « Mama Bear Musings
  106. The 17th of August 1993 – Lincolnton, Georgia | Forgotten Correspondance
  107. Happy Accidents and Embracing the Disaster | Michele Baker
  108. Weekly Writing Challenge – Relaxation | medicinalmeadows
  109. sometimes emptiness has a capacity…/Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words | Louie
  110. Behogan
  111. Baffles | the Grace Apparatus
  112. We Are Painted People « eternal Domnation
  113. Green Eyed Blizzard | Anecdote Love
  114. A lighter enlightenment | litadoolan
  115. Weekly Writing Challenge: The New Business | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  116. A Bather’s Reflection | The Life of A Thinker
  117. Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 words (well…some words) | Pop-Culture-Referenced
  118. Staring at the Sky | Life’s Unfiltered Ramblings
  119. The Darkness | Apoplectic Apostrophes
  120. The Camino Plan | Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words
  121. Creative Collaboration of the Painted People | DCTdesigns Creative Canvas
  122. solitude contains | y
  123. Where have you been | Lewis Cave
  124. Lights in the Tunnel | Ever Upward
  125. every morning, i | y
  126. there is pleasure in | y
  127. that mysterious ruin.. | thecrazyppl
  128. the emptiness: 1000 words | memoirs of an unremarkable man
  129. Uncertainty | Megan Elizabeth
  130. Daily Post’s Weekly Writing Challenge Submission (A Short: Karen’s Victorious
  131. Journey) | 15 Words or Less
  132. Suicide no. 23: The Endless Coil | derekalanwilkinson
  133. Emptiness inside | CCFordWords
  134. The Lake | Paper Plane Pilots
  135. #Fbn2 7th Year Anniversary – Blessed By Buoyancy | Firebrand Notes
  136. Jasper’s Key | L5GN
  137. Weekly Writing Challenge: Inspiration Images (1,000 Words) | jennsmidlifecrisis
  138. zombies | yi-ching lin photography
  139. the word don’t | y
About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Weekly Writing Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Writing Challenge – 5 FEB 14

  1. librarylady says:

    Great post. I want to know more about this guy.

  2. litadoolan says:

    Softly moving. A great read.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

