Speakeasy 147 – Dream Girl

This week’ sentence prompt, provided by last week’s winner, tinsenpup, must be used as the FIRST line in your piece. And the media prompt is a picture, which you will find below. As with all our media prompts, your post shouldn’t be about the picture, but you must make some sort of reference to it in your submission. You can be as overt or as subtle as you like.

Here’s a bird’s eye view of the prompts

deux aras amoureux

“There was a time when things were different.”

************************************************************************

 There was a time when things were different. A time when I was in love with a girl everyone wanted; when the jealousy of every guy in school would bore holes in my back. I was not the quarterback of the football team, nor the class president. I was not handsome or brainy. What I had was her trust. For Kelly Marsten that was a really big deal.

You see she had a history of not being able to trust anyone that piled up like leaves in the fall under a two century old oak tree. Issues with her deadbeat dad and tramp of a mother set Kelly up to be hesitant to trust anyone. I guess it was a wonder I was able to get through to her, but I made it my mission.

I first saw her the summer after our sophomore year. She was a lifeguard at the local pool. Thankfully I can report I was not so desperate that I feigned drowning to get her attention. I just admired her from afar while using every bit of the credit my mother had built up in walking visits to the place. I got in the pool every day that summer for a grand total of eighteen dollars of my own money.

It was obvious Kelly had no boyfriend as I watched her that summer. It got me to thinking because she was the most beautiful creature my young eyes had ever seen. She was just a little shorter than me with jet black hair and emerald eyes that seemed to sparkle like a rainbow of colors, even from a distance. I saw plenty of swimmers try to give her attention, but she was not impressed. I learned from that experience and saved my efforts for a better opportunity.

It came at a church picnic near the end of summer. Kelly came along with one of my friends from childhood, Parker Bradley who just happened to love me like a brother. She knew how hard it was for me to find a nice girl and she had a plan in mind to hook us up together. Neither of us realized it of course, but Parker was shrewd about it.

She managed to group us together in the activities and we wound up in a three-legged race together. We wound up getting our rhythm figured out quickly and won the race even though we were both laughing so hard. I loved her smile before, but seeing it up close just kind of jolted my heart.

We sat through the evening and up until the fireworks talking and sharing our experiences with dud relationships, kind of like trying to one up the other. It did not take long for me to concede her history sounded like a horror story when compared to mine. What seemed most encouraging was the fact that she remained with me even when many of her friends departed. She even allowed me to slide my fingers into hers during our discussions and that told me she was open to more.

When we returned to school our relationship was beginning to bud and I felt like I was in a dream. From nobody to somebody someone wanted to spend time with in the course of a summer is what every teen dreams of and I was living the dream. We did everything together, even several of our classes. Football games, band trips, basketball, track, no matter what it was, we were a pair.

I sensed Kelly did everything she could to avoid spending any more time at home than absolutely necessary. I did not pry too much into that situation since Parker filled me in enough to know it was likely Taboo. Besides, it was her time with me that would decide our future, and that was something I could take care of myself.

A year after we met we returned to the church event and reminisced about how we found each other. Parker wanted full credit, but we gave her as hard a time as we could, saying we were destined to find each other and she really did not have that much to do with it.

She acted kind of wounded, but Kelly made it up to her when she asked her to be her maid of honor four years later. The wedding was everything she dreamed and more she told me. That was exactly what I wanted for the girl that changed my life. 

  ************************************************************************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Fiction, Speakeasy, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Speakeasy 147 – Dream Girl

  1. atrm61 says:

    What a sweet romance with the perfect ending-fit for February too :-)Loved it Joe!

  2. Suzanne says:

    Such a lovely story about first love and high school sweethearts. Wonderfully done! 🙂

  3. christi74 says:

    This was very good. Very real and understated. Nice job!

  4. Monique says:

    “What I had was her trust” Wow. Great story.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    This was such a sweet fairy-tale ending… but unlike most fairy tales, I believe this!

  6. ranu802 says:

    Good friends are precious, as you have proved in your story.

  7. aishasoasis says:

    A very beautiful story, well written, and with a wonderful end – true love!

  8. tinsenpup says:

    Aw…That was lovely. The whole story had such a sweetly authentic tone to it. Very nicely done.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

