Flower Arches – Haibun Thinking – 3rd February

Al Forbes has a new weekly invitation to join some others in creating something called a Haibun. Here is something from Al’s blog to explain what a Haibun is:

Haibun is a Japanese literary form that combines one or more paragraphs of your written narrative (prose) with a concentrated (short) poem – the haiku. Hai stands for haiku, bun stands for prose.

Welcome to  Haibun Thinking. A weekly writing challenge to create verse, prose and haiku using prompts from all areas of art including – but not limited to – movies, songs, art, photography etc.

© Anja Partin

ART © Anja Partin – Oh Pithy Me

© Sally - My Beautiful Things

PHOTO © Sally – My Beautiful Things

This week is “Art Week”. A piece of art and a photograph. The photo this week comes from Sally of mybeautifulthings, and the artwork comes from Anja of Oh Pithy Me

I chose the photograph.

********

From the age of four when she began a run of being the official family flower girl for all twelve of her cousins Emma was in love with weddings. She understood by the time she was a teenager that the idea was to only get married one time to the perfect man for eternity. But this would not fulfill her desire to be around weddings her whole life. So her workplace destiny was solved early on. Within a half decade she became known as the wedding planner expert and her client list was impressive.

She loved choosing venues, but never could find the one of her dreams, so she began working on one custom made to fit the bill. The first wedding to be conducted there would be perfect, she was sure of that. On the day before the ceremony she stood and imagined the procession walking through the natural arch and her heart felt content.

Through the boughs of color

Walks those whose hearts are fully ready

To join together forever

 

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Flower Arches – Haibun Thinking – 3rd February

  1. Suzanne says:

    Lovely. Ah weddings – they can be quite moving.

  2. Brenda says:

    A father’s love for his daughter is a precious thing. At least that is the feeling this leaves me with. Beautifully written tribute to a wonderful time in one’s life. Blessings, Brenda

  3. Anja says:

    Very lovely tale 🙂

  4. Y. Prior says:

    really beautiful! and the photo highlights someone’s special artistic touch – I can see why you selected that. Also, your artsy touch was in the writing – and was so sweet –

    loved this ending too:
    “Through the boughs of color

    Walks those whose hearts are fully ready

    To join together forever”

    oh so good…. 😉

  5. A beautiful story. To turn our love of something that has been a part of who we are from childhood into profession would be remarkable but I’ve heard such happens with wedding planners often.

  6. Very good Joe, sorry but the teacher in me has found this: she stood ‘an’ imagined – I think it should be ‘and’.
    Great idea and very well told, enjoyed the progression of the story.

  7. Al says:

    I really like that. The Wedding Planner take. I can see through their eyes and how they see the day going. Brilliant.

  8. That’s a lovely story and I’m really glad you chose my photo as your inspiration! 🙂

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

