Not Just Water Under The Bridge – 26 January – Sunday Photo Fiction

Sunday is the beginning of another weekly invitation from Alastair to open our imagination and tell the world what we see in his photo prompt. There is always several rich stories that flow from this interesting photographic offering. If you fancy a short adventure add your 200 words or less and join the fray.

*************

 “You know, I always loved this place,” Detective Sophie Marcus told her partner.

“I know it is a popular spot,” Detective Tom Welling replied.

“Yes, lots of couples come here.”

Both watched as uniformed officers unrolled the yellow crime scene tape to mark the perimeters of their crime scene. Several hours of interrogation led to the information that brought them to this place. The fifth victim of the Bridge Slasher was expected to be found here. Their initial visual assessment eliminated the possibility of the body being in the area where the water splashed down the rocks.

“You know I cannot believe someone like Kelly Kincaid would be so taken with a guy like Metzger,” Sophie commented.

“I don’t know Soph. Some women allow their better judgment to be subjugated by good looks and money.”

“It’s more than that. We fingered him two months ago and she continued with him through two more victims,” Sophie said.

“I am just glad he did not add her to the tote board. Without her help we wouldn’t know about this.”

Both detectives looked under the bridge when one of the deputies wearing a wetsuit reached down into the water and signaled there was something there.

“You know,” Tom said, “I was kind of hoping this would turn out different.”

“In our line of work success is never a good thing!”

 *************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Alastair's photo Challenge, Christmas, Weekly Photo Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not Just Water Under The Bridge – 26 January – Sunday Photo Fiction

  1. Lyn says:

    I’m kinda hoping the body they find is male. Something tells me Kelly Kincaid is smarter than they give her credit for.

  2. draliman says:

    Great story! That river is going to have to be dredged for bodies soon there’s so many in there 🙂
    I liked your last line – hoping to find the body they’re expecting, but at the same time hoping it’s not there and no-one else has died.

  3. EagleAye says:

    This bridge is really sucking up a lot of bodies. Loved the dialog in this one.

  4. Al says:

    Great 🙂 There are several bodies now in that water 😉

  5. Good story Joe. I saw uniformed police standing round, drinking coffee and Stalingrad while waiting for something to be found.

  6. tedstrutz says:

    Hey, it’s Sophie!!!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

