Trifecta-Week One Hundred Ten – Quaint

Monday morning at 10 AM we get another prompt from Trifecta. You don’t know who Trifecta is? It is a group that provides two prompts each week, on Monday and Friday for your fiction writing pleasure. The Monday prompt is geared to fall between 33 and 333 words and based on a one word prompt. Using the third definition from the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary you will put together a fiction masterpiece. Along with the other nearly 100 writers taking the plunge you will create an exciting story for others to read.

Now onto this week’s Trifecta prompt. We’re back to one word and its third definition. And, of course, as many syllables as you please in your 33-word limit!

Happy writing!

QUAINT (adjective)

1:  obsolete:  EXPERT, SKILLED
2a:  marked by skillful design <quaint with many a device in India ink — Herman Melville>
b:  marked by beauty or elegance
3a : unusual or different in character or appearance :  ODD
  b : pleasingly or strikingly old-fashioned or unfamiliar <a quaint phrase>
– See more at: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/#sthash.d2EqAlMo.dpuf

********

“Do you always come this way when you go to the beach?”

“Yes. I began to follow the GPS directions when I realized it shaved off so much time,” Mallory replied.

“So riding the interstate is not really faster?” Ellie asked.

“No, because no major interstates are close enough. Besides that you get the chance to ride through the country side of the state and see what used to be. Many of the towns are not that different than fifty years ago.”

“I have noticed a lot of that on this trip. There are some really quaint little towns we pass through. Can you imagine living in a place like this?

“It would certainly be a change from what I know now,” Mallory admitted. “It would be like living in Mayberry.”

******************

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Trifecta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trifecta-Week One Hundred Ten – Quaint

  1. Draug419 says:

    I’d like to live in a little beach town…
    Lovely work!

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I like seeing life off the overly-traveled road. Life seems simpler there.

  3. I love a trip where you take the scenic route and have time to smell the flowers on the way. 🙂 Thanks for linking up!

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

