Flash In The Pan – Book Seven

Ann Marie (Red) Dwyer is at it again. This dynamo is all about helping authors get their work into print through Redmund Productions. Specifically she has offered something with a lot less stress as a preliminary way to break into the world of published authors. I know this because my first work appeared in her 5th addition of the Flash in the Pan quarterly. Below is the cover of that publication.

Here is my name among the list of authors. Proof my dream is coming true.

See, I am truly an author after all.

See, I am truly an author after all.

So since January 1st she is recruiting authors to write flash fiction storied based on one word prompts with specific limits. Basically you write to the word and all the words follow a specific theme, this time “Boys and Their Toys”. She will continue to collect up to 250 qualifying stories for inclusion in this issue until 31 March of 2014.

If you have a blog you can use it, but if not there is a method to submit as well. In the past I have made each entry a blog post. Since then I have found many other regular blog challenges, so i decided to save time and space and put four together in this post. I invite you to join in on Red’s offer.

Soldiers (75)

Anna and Kelly gasped as they tried to suck in the hot desert air to recover from their quick hike with full packs. Whoever decided that it was vital for women to be equal in all things was an idiot. Carrying these things was not something meant for their slight frames.

“Equality, right?”

“I am not begging to see combat,” Anna declared.

“Me either!”

“Maybe housework isn’t so bad huh?”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Motorcycle (75)

“I could buy it and it would be fine,” Harold said.

“No, it won’t. Your father died riding one of these death machines.”

“A motorcycle is like anything, if you ride it wrong it can take your life,” Harold reasoned.

Marie stood with her arms crossed and shook her head vehemently. “I don’t want you to!”

“I am retired and want to enjoy my freedom.”

“You can’t if you are dead.”

“You worry too much!”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Surfboard (75)

“That ain’t right man! No one with a body like that should be able to surf that well,” Hobie declared.

“Dude, she does it all the time,” Manu replied. “She shreds like a pro!”

“You say she is J.J.’s sister?”

“Yessir, a junior at Aloha State. Her name is Kiana. She is majoring in forensic science.”

“CSI to be,” Hobie added.

The girl headed back toward another monster swell and made it her personal playground.

+++++++++++++++++

Figures (75)

“I haven’t seen figures like that in six months,” Brett said. He handed the binoculars to his buddy as he eyeballed the beach from the flight deck of their aircraft carrier, docked in an Italian port.

“It makes quite a difference when there is no uniform involved,” John replied.

“How’s your Italian sport?” Brett asked.

“Eh, I know enough. Besides it won’t be my Italian that gets me what I want, my charm will.”

If you are interested in joining me at Flash in the Pan, you can follow this link: Flash in The Pan #7.

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Fiction, Fiction Series, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

