Daily Prompt – You’re a Winner!

You’ve just won $1 billion dollars in the local lottery. You do not have to pay tax on your winnings. How will you spend the money?

I would do what I do with the blessings God already showers on me and help others. I consider one of the greatest gifts God gave me to be a compassion for others and desire to do whatever I can to help them. There are so many needs people have and to see others struggle due to their circumstances is just something unbearable to me.

We were reading the Christmas Story as a family on Tuesday night and I asked everyone what their favorite part of Christmas time was. Each answered in tur and when it came to me I said what I loved the most was how people seemed to open their hearts and care for others more during this time. You know what I mean, things like the Angel trees, where people buy gifts for boys and girls, or Toys for Tots. Things like the community Christmas dinners for anyone that wants to participate.

One of the things I learned long before that I sort of adapted into a personal mission statement is the J.O.Y. Principle. Jesus first, Others second, Yourself third. This was taught to me by the woman who covered my day care needs for the first twelve years of my life. She took me to church and launched me on my faith journey. Not only did she teach me this, she modeled it.

With such a large amount of funds to work with, the list of projects to help others could be endless. Reality many times inhibits the range of options when you want to try to do something good. But then we are not talking about reality here, are we?

Ivan is the first Heart House kid to enjoy the new library.

Ivan is the first Heart House kid to enjoy the new library.

When I traveled to Belize during the second week of December in 2012 and 2013 I saw many opportunities to help others. Funds are always an issue and of course reality plays a big role in how much can be accomplished. When we visited this year we had the funds available to replace a leaking roof on a tutor center and also to build shelves to finish a library. The benefits to each of these projects should ripple out for quite some time.

In the midst of replacing the roof of the Heart House tutor center in Maya Mopan, Belize.

In the midst of replacing the roof of the Heart House tutor center in Maya Mopan, Belize.

There is so much inequity in the world and having such an endowment would surely help some, but not all of those who need it. I am proud to be connected with the group of churches in my hometown area that do a fair amount of mission work not only in our area but abroad. While we visited Belize this year I got to see a house they built for a family to replace what could best be described as substandard to say the least.

On the left is the original house the family used, on the right is the one replaced by men from my local church association. $5,000 wouldn't build much of a foundation in the USA, but here it changed a family's life.

On the left is the original house the family used, on the right is the one replaced by men from my local church association. $5,000 wouldn’t build much of a foundation in the USA, but here it changed a family’s life.

Of course trying to win a lottery to do this is a foolish pursuit. Instead we need to do more with the abundance God blesses each of us with every day. Find a way to bless those around you and the benefit will be more than they money you spent.

More Daily Post – You’re a Winner posts:

  1. Billion Gold Coins | 365 days of defiance
  2. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | George and Nigel
  3. A Billion in the Bank | As I please
  4. Geek Ergo Sum
  5. What is a biscuit? | littlegirlstory
  6. DP Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner | Sabethville
  7. It’s MY Billion Dollars | Everyb0dyd0thefl0p.com
  8. Depends on when you ask I guess… | thoughtsofrkh
  9. Daily Prompt: You’re A Winner! | From Slacker To Scribe
  10. A Novel About Finding Treasure And What To Do With It | The Jittery Goat
  11. A Billion Dollars of Fun | 61 Musings
  12. Daily Prompt Challenge – Rich | soletusknow
  13. 238. Billionaire | Barely Right of Center
  14. A Dream Come True | Flowers and Breezes
  15. Daily Prompt Challenge | Jottings and Writings
  16. Getting Rich and the Tribble Epidemic | Rob’s Surf Report
  17. Daily Prompt: You’re A Winner!!! | Nicole Sloan’s Books
  18. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  19. If I Had a Billion Dollars… | Traci’s Space
  20. daily prompt: you’re a winner | aimanss…
  21. Mega-Jackpot Crazy Town | PROOF OF GOD! …and other tragedies.
  22. My Other Blog | Daily Prompt: You’re A Winner!
  23. money cannot buy | sarahscapes
  24. Give it away? | A mom’s blog
  25. My Irresponsible use of 1 Billion Dollars | TechnoTom
  26. A Rich Life… | Haiku By Ku
  27. windfall | peacefulblessedstar
  28. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | lifebeinggirly
  29. Diner’s Dilemma | Harmless Propaganda
  30. DP Challenge Accepted ~ “Yes, We All Are Winners, Money Or Not”! | Just A Recovery Author Learning To Be A Better Writer
  31. DP Challenge Accepted ~ We All Are Winners Money Or Not! | Just A Recovery Author Learning To Be A Better Writer
  32. Daily Prompt: Billion Dollar Winner | Breathe.
  33. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | Tillie’s
  34. Daily Prompt: The One Billion Dollar Question | One Starving Activist
  35. One billion dollars and me.. !! | life at random outlook
  36. Wish list ! | Dreams to Reality !
  37. That’s How We Rolls | Retrofocus
  38. When Money Killed Him | Shadows Of The Divine
  39. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | Basically Beyond Basic
  40. RICH!! Share the Wealth! | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  41. Money Can’t Buy It / Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  42. S. Thomas Summers | Writing and the Tree of Expression (Not Self-Expression)
  43. Some people are… | The Nameless One
  44. Daily Prompt – You’re a Winner! | Joe’s Musings
  45. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | janetkenrick
  46. “Who wants to be a billionaire? I don’t” | Life is great
  47. The Lottery and the Gospel | meanderedwanderings
  48. You’re a Winner! What would you do? | The Christian Gazette
  49. The Billion Dollar Winner! | theauthorwhoknows
  50. I am Lynn
  51. What would you do with a Billion Pounds? | Jola’s log
  52. Daily Prompt: Winner! | Kawanee’s Korner
  53. Living the good life | Unknown File
  54. When your numbers come up | Fictionalism
  55. Filthy Rich | Active Army Wife
  56. Dreams of riches | 2 times pink
  57. Easy Peasy! | A.C. Melody
  58. The life of one woman…
  59. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | I really just pretend to know stuff
  60. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | lynnesartandsoul
  61. Daily Prompt: Rich! Hardwick Hall, more glass than wall | @ The West Gate
  62. Did you hear? Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | Melba Christie at Poemattic
  63. WP Daily Prompt: You Are a Winner | by LRose
  64. Daily Prompt: Rich | A Taste of Morning
  65. The quest of Jesse | tjbarkerseattle
  66. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  67. The Billion Dollar Question | Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | A Room of One’s Own
  68. If I Had a Billion Dollars… | Baby Gates Down
  69. Blowing it on health, wealth and happiness for all. | Dancing with the Wise Women
  70. I Won? | Square One Notes
  71. If I Were a Human | Wiley’s Wisdom
  72. If I Had A Billion Dollars… | polymathically
  73. Santa Outdid Himself This Christmas – Most of The Time The Best Presents Come From The Heart (not the store) | Finding Ann MacGregor
  74. $1b? Really? | tuckedintoacorner
  75. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | Writing Canvas
  76. A Billion Bucks Buys A Lot Of Freedom – Daily Writing Prompt: “You’re A Winner” | Laughing Through Life
  77. My Plan | kaffechai
  78. My plan submitted to the fate : If I’m the winner… | Odds & Ends
  79. You’re A Winner | Kansa Muse
  80. Daily Prompt : you’re a winner ! | Mon beau manoir
  81. Woohoo! I won the lottery for $1,000,000,000!!! | deadlikemeblog
  82. Daily Prompt: You’re a Winner! | niennie
  83. Bruce Wayne lotto tour | Computer Blue
  84. Billion Billion Billion | Edward Hotspur
  85. The Bag Lady of Chiswick | jwdwrites

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt – You’re a Winner!

  1. Pingback: Billion Billion Billion | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Getting Rich and the Tribble Epidemic | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: 300 dollar sushi in my private jet | I am Lynn

  4. Pingback: A Novel About Finding Treasure And What To Do With It | The Jittery Goat

  5. Angela Death says:

    What would be nice if somebody developed a lottery where all the proceeds go to various worthy charities. I would actually have no problem with buying the occasional lottery ticket then.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

