50 States of Pray – Calling ALL Who Pray

Last April I came across a great opportunity to interact with about 2,000 other bloggers in an event called the April A-Z Blog Challenge started a couple of years ago by a Los Angeles based blogger by the name of Arlee Byrd. Through this I was blessed to see a lot of great idea to connect with other bloggers not only on WordPress but Blogger. As I went back to visit some of these blogs I came across a very interesting invitation.

Mark Koopman, a blogger based in Hawaii, has devised a great opportunity for each of us to participate in as an online community of those who believe in the power of prayer. On December 24th he invites us to join him in a virtual prayer circle he hopes to extend across all fifty states and whatever countries participants hail from. I will add the pertinent info from Mark’s blog below this.

Aloha,
About two months ago, I had a random thought.
Normally, these get me into trouble, but this one sounded like a great idea:
Why not set aside a moment to reflect on the year that was and share some hopes for the next year?

I’m calling it the 50 States of Pray event and I’d love to find at least one person (but the more the merrier) from each U.S. state to participate.

But wait… as they say on TV… This is absolutely open to anyone, anywhere. Imagine if we got one person from 50 independent states (countries), too. That would be amazing!

All that’s required is to take a moment and about 100 words. Then, on Dec. 24, 2013, please share a prayer, a thought, a memory, a hope and even a regret about the past and/or a wish for the future.

If you can’t post on the day… it’s Christmas Eve, Mark… (I know, I know 🙂 feel free to schedule your post to go live on the 24th.
I’m *NOT* expecting people to comment – my only hope is that people can stop by to read, relax and reflect for as much time as they can spare 🙂

Simple rules:

A.    When clicking the Linky List “You are next… Click here to enter” button, you’ll first be asked for the link title (your name) or blog title. Please add a hyphen and the two-letter state abbreviation AFTER your name/blog, so I can track which state you’ll be “representing.”
(e.g. Mark Koopmans – HI)

A1.     If you’re representing a foreign state or country, please add the 2- or 3-letter Country Code, so I can track which country you’ll be representing (e.g. Harold Pottear – ENG)(As a courtesy, I’ve added the names and states/countries of those who’ve previously responded – but if I’ve misspelt a name or added the wrong state, just let me know!)
B. I appreciate everyone’s help so far, and would so love some more extra help promoting 50 States of Pray.
        B1. On Twitter, please promote the event by tweeting this post and/or using #50StatesOfPray hashtag.
        B2. Any help with sharing this post via Facebook would also be much appreciated.
The response from the Blogging Community (and beyond) has been wonderful and I’m looking forward to reading and sharing with you all.In closing, here’s my simple goal behind 50 States of Pray:

Is there not a better time to help make the world a better place than Christmastime?

Deep down in my heart, I truly believe someone, somewhere will absolutely benefit fromyour words.

Merry Christmas, thanks for helping spread the word, and I hope to read you soon 🙂

And that’s it.

************

If you want to join me in this, here is the link to Mark’s blog post and a linky list. 50 States of Pray

About Joe Owens

Can you tell from my writing I love God? I hope so because that is what I want you to know most about me. I am also a writer who loves taking on fiction prompts and crafting a story. One day you will read my work in print. Until then enjoy it here! For free!
This entry was posted in Evangelism, Faith, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 States of Pray – Calling ALL Who Pray

  1. Aloha Joe,

    Just wanted to stop by and say thanks very much for your support of 50 States of Pray – I appreciate it a lot!

    I’m looking forward to reading all the posts – it should be very inspiring 🙂

    PS: Merry Christmas to you and yours 🙂

    • Joe Owens says:

      I just hate I got into the swing so late in the process. I have a few people of faith I connect to here and I think they would like to participate. I look forward to reading the responses myself.

So you took time to read what I wrote and I appreciate it, but comments are even better!

